Does iPhone Use 802.1n on AirPort Extreme Base Station?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Advance The Man, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #1
    ...or does it use G and slow the whole system down? In the next few days my setup will include an iMac that is n compatible, two Apple TV's and two iphones. I also have a powerbook that won't use 'n', however this will be of nominal use. I want to set it up where it's as fast as possible - especially for the apple tv's, but thinking the iphone will slow it down. Is this the case?
     
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    The iPhone does not have an 802.11n chip in it.

    It uses g.
     
  3. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #3
    So it will slow it down?

    When you have a slower unit like the iPhone slowing the entire network down, does the network immediately pick back up to n speeds after it's (iphone) turned off?
     
  4. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #4
    Also, looking at the Airport Extreme Base Station - does it's Simultaneous dual-band Wi-Fi allow you to use the iPhone on a G network and have the apple tv and imac stay on the n network?
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    The new model of the Extreme and Time Capsule runs two different networks (one b/g, one n) simultaneously so the iPhone being on the b/g network shouldn't slow down the separate n network.
     
  6. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #6
    Wow, what a great selling point! Will be buying one.
     
  7. westernmass macrumors 6502

    westernmass

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Western Mass.
    #7
    So same question than about the first version of TC. I just got an new Imac and have a macbook for the wife and an iphone. I have never tinkered with the N/G/B settings.

    If I set to N - it will revert to B/G when I phone is on/connected to the network?
    If I set to N and iphone not on or connected it will stay N and be faster for the Imac and laptop

    I wanted to check out the N setting and see if faster at all. Just want to fully understand before I tinker with settings.
     
  8. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #8
    From the tinkering I did with my original Time Capsule:

    If I set it to a 802.11n-only (meaning a/b/g couldn't join even if they wanted to), my Mac showed that it was connected to the TC at 300mbps.

    If I set it to an 802.11b/g/n network, my Mac showed that it was connected at 130mbps.

    I didn't run any actual speed tests copying files around. To me it seemed like the 802.11n-only network had the potential to go a lot faster, so I simply left it like that and then setup my old 802.11b/g router as a bridge, so I essentially did with two routers what the new Extremes and TCs can do with one router.
     
  9. westernmass macrumors 6502

    westernmass

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Western Mass.
    #9
    Out of curiosity, I have a Airport Express in the house as well. If I set the TC to N could I get a signal for my iPhone just from the Express and the imac and the macbook get the N signal from the TC?

    The express is at this time only used for the stereo
     
  10. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #10
    The Express could do that, but you'd need to connect it to the TC via Ethernet to do so.
     

Share This Page