iPhone Does Jailbreak now include Cydia, MobileSubstrate & Overall Stability?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by HappyDude20, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #1
    I, perhaps like you, have not jail broken my iPhone considering the oddities concerning this latest released jailbreak. I heard many users dissatisfied with the lack cydia natively residing alongside the JB, as well as MobileSubstrate needing to be reinstalled after every reboot.

    Have these issues been solved, or are we still where we were December 24th, 2013?

    I could sure use TetherMe and LocationHolic right about now.
     
  2. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #2
    just jailbroke, phone is stuck on the evasion app..
     
  3. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68000

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #3
    using jailbroken 5s since three days. and its working normally. installed some tweaks as well.
     
  4. dasx macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #4
    Several people have confirmed that any "irregularities" were only found when jailbreaking with a computer configured in Chinese.

    I jailbroke a week ago, perfect. Mobile Substrate does no longer exist, it's Cydia Substrate now. Cydia comes out of the box and it will update everything needed for your tweaks to work with iOS7 and ARM64 devices.

    Did you apply jailbreak on a phone which had been OTA updated? If so, that's probably the reason for the boot loop problem. DFU -> Restore -> Jailbreak again.
     
  5. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #5
    i restored it w/ iTunes assuming this was the issue.

    i then couldn't locate Cydia Substrate in Cydia so I saw a youtube video where it said to download Insanely's repo and then add MobileSubstrate Fix for iOS 7, which i added and was able to download TetherMe and got it working. I'm still on edge howeverr.
     
  6. dasx macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #6
    After a fresh restore + jailbreak, when running cydia for the first time, it'll do some tasks such as moving system apps. Then, it'll close. When opening Cydia again, it'll ask what kind of user you are, it'll load preferences and do some checkings. After all that, there should be some "changes" (updates) available, one of them being Cydia Substrate. Install and everything is OK.

    That MobileSubstrate Fix is prior to Saurik's update of Cydia Substrate, so probably isn't as stable and won't be updated in the long term.
     
  7. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #7
    You shouldn't need to do that. Evasion and mobile substrate are updated for 7.x and all new devices. Something does not seem right on your device.

    I would restore and re-jailbreak.
     
  8. Hackintosh Sr. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #8
    So you asked if you should jailbreak, then waited 45 minutes for an answer and jailbroke anyway?

    Only install official substrate stuff straight from saurik. If you are installing a bunch of "hacked" hacks, then its not going to be a bad time mmmmk
     
  9. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #9
    I ran the jailbreak on Monday and the only issues not caused by a bad tweak were:

    • My old Windows laptop, from which I ran the jailbreak, was too slow but worked after I gave the evasi0n app high priority in the task manager
    • I lost my weather info on the lockscreen (after a bad tweak sent me to safe mode) but found the fix online and then installed "Safe Mode NC Fixer for iOS 7" to prevent it from happening again. I suspect a future version of evasi0n will eliminate this problem.
     
  10. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #10
    I'm doing this now, a fresh restore from iTunes on my iPhone 4 and it's jailbreaking w/ Evasi0n now. I'll let it do its thing and hope it shows Cydia Substrate under "changes"

    ----------

    Doing this now, hopefully it runs smoothly.

    ----------

    Yeah I got impatient and wanted to go swimming w/ the rest of the jailbroken ppl.

    ----------

    Will I need to download this Safe Mode NC Fix myself? Or is this something I shouldn't even have to worry about? I just don't want to be in a situation where i'm out and about and my phone stops working.
     
  11. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #11
    Let me know how it goes.
     
  12. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #12
    So weird. Opened Cydia, it did the whole filesystem screen that reads "cydia will exit after.." and then my iPhone rebooted and when it did the iPhone no longer has the Cydia app.

    Edit: I'm going to restore again and re-JB.
     
  13. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #13
    Yeah your phone will reboot, and Cydia will still be on the device though.
     
  14. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #14
    It wasn't on the device, though Evasion still said the phone was jailbroken. I'll just re-jailbreak.
     
  15. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #15
    My phone didn't stop working. I just didn't have weather info on the lockscreen. To install the fix from Cydia you'll have to add a repo that carries it as I don't think it's in the default ones.
     
  16. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #16
    Glad to say the JB worked. Cydia Substrate installed, TetherMe as well.

    All is well. :D
     

Share This Page