Does Leopard work on G4 iMac?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by evoboredom, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. evoboredom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #1
    My neighbor has an iMac G4 running Mac OS 10.1.2 currently.
    She is going to sell me this computer, and I was wondering if I could upgrade it to Leopard. Is Leopard compatible with G4 iMacs?
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    System requirements for Leopard

    • Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor
    • 512MB of memory (min. 1gb I would have said)
    • DVD drive for installation
    • 9GB of available disk space


    Better double-check which iMac it is... ask your neighbour to open up:
    Apple Menu>About This Mac to see what it says.
     
  3. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I think officially it has to have at least an 867mhz processor...I would have to check my Leopard box to be sure though...:)

    Having said that, I am pretty sure it would work whether it does or not...

    Ahh...Blue Velvet knew for sure:)
     
  4. Moof1904 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #4
    Even though it will probably run on a system with a slower than 867 MHz processor, it's a very non-trivial task to install Leopard on a system that doesn't meet the system requirements. I wouldn't recommend it for the feint of heart.
     
  5. Kashchei macrumors 65816

    Kashchei

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Meat Space
    #5
    I heard on a podcast (I think it was the MacUsers podcast) that all that was necessary was to connect the below-spec machine to an above-spec with a FireWire cable. Boot the below-spec machine in target mode, launch the Leopard install on the above-spec machine, and install on the below-spec drive.

    If anyone knows this to be false, please let me know--I was planning on doing this very thing to my wife's 800 Mhz G4 iMac over Thanksgiving!
     
  6. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #6
    Yes, that will work. Leopard checks the computer the CD is booted on, and when the iMac is in firewire mode the other computer just sees it as a hard drive.
     

Share This Page