Does Macbook Pro Run CS:Source

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jpd75, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. jpd75 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #1
    Ok, before any of you whine about this. I was wondering, if MY specific macbook will run CounterStrike:Source and approximately how well.

    I just bought a Macbook Pro - Specs are here:
    http://store.apple.com/us/configure/MB991LL/A?mco=MTM3NDczMTM

    OR

    In a nutshell:
    # 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    # 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    # 250GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm

    Essentially, I would use Crossover or BootCamp (But have had bad experience with it in removing it).

    Thanks all!
     
  2. macfrik macrumors 6502

    macfrik

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    Of course it will run. But not in highest performance. I would say the graphics are decent enough to play with no lag using bootcamp. Don't use crossover, bootcamp is a way to go for gaming on a Mac.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    It can run at full resolution, textures on high, but don't enable AA nor AS.
     
  4. TheWelshBoyo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #4
    Don't listen to people in this thread.
    Also, what are you doing asking if a computer with probably the best integrated graphics can run a 5 year old game?!
    CS:S runs on my Pentium 4 HT 3.4GHz with 1.5GB of RAM and an NVidia 6610XL, an OEM underclocked 6600.
    I can run it full res: 1600x1200 no lag. with all settings on fullest they can be, everything enabled.
    That's a 4ish year old PC.
     
  5. jpd75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #5
    Because, it doesnt matter if you got a 9999999GHZ processor and 10239102310901923GB of Ram, you need the video too. My "Macbook" NOT pro, does not have that.

    Hence, why the PRO is coming.
     
  6. TheWelshBoyo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #6
    Err... I know that.
    I'm pointing out that I have a 6610XL. It gets something ridiculously low compared to the 9400M, when using benchmarking tools.
    However, CPU and RAM do matter as well.
     
  7. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #7
    I run it in Crossover on a 22 inch external display without issue using both the 9400m in my MBP and the 9600GT. The 9600 is faster but not much. CS is an old game....so old I first played it over a modem...as in dialup. Source is a little more demanding but not much.
     
  8. Sace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #8
    It runs very well on my base 13", so you should be good to go.

    Even MW2 runs fine on the 9400m
     
  9. masse macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    MA/GA
    #9
    well I know this won't help but my machine runs it at native 1440x900 with AA and AF enabled with HDR enabled. avg 70-90 frames. :)
     

Share This Page