Does memory has to match exactly?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by todesto, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. todesto macrumors member

    todesto

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    #1
    I have 12GB in my system and wanted to add 4GB more so I got one.
    But the system does not recognize the memory and shows slot as empty.

    I have 4GB 2Rx4 PC3-8500R-7-10-JP (3 of this) and
    the new one I got is 4GB 2Rx4 PC3-8500R-7-10-E1. the only difference is E1 and all others are same. Is this the problem?

    or do I have defective memory?
     
  2. Lucas Godfrey macrumors 6502

    Lucas Godfrey

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere between Here and There
    #2
    check the slot for dust, then swap the sticks around, does the "empty" slot move?
     
  3. todesto thread starter macrumors member

    todesto

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    #3
    Yes it does. Tried in slot 4, boot, shows empty.
    tried in slot 1, boot, shows empty.
     
  4. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #4
    as i recently found out with a bad stick of ram , if their is anything wrong with the ram, the mac will refuse to boot

    the ram manufacturer told me before sending it in for an RMA, that i should look at it under a magnifying glass to make sure their wasn't any broken traces

    broken traces are not covered under warranty, they said

    suggest returning ram / or getting it replaced under their lifetime warranty

    i should be getting back a new stick in 3 days

    i got a couple computers with different ram, my i7 has two types of ram cuz it is tri channel.

    i figure it will work as long as the notch is in the correct location, and its not like parity vs non parity
     
  5. Thanks pal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #5
    RAM usually has a lifetime warranty. Return it for another.
     
  6. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    oh i forgot a good tip

    before you submit a rma request or a return request
    photocopy / scan both sides of that ram chip. you might need pictures of all the serial #s and part #s for your return/warranty request

    when (name of ram company) told me about broken traces not being covered i made sure to email them high res scans of the ram module, heh
     
  7. Lucas Godfrey macrumors 6502

    Lucas Godfrey

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere between Here and There
    #7
    then the stick is faulty. replace it.
     

Share This Page