Does Migration Assistant work over USB2.0?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tdhurst, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    I'd like to use Migration Assistant to restore my new Mac after I upgrade, but it's USB 2.0.

    Anyone know if it will work?
     
  2. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #2
    I've used it to restore from a bootable USB external harddrive, so I don't see why it wouldn't then work from the actual computer, but I can't say for sure...
     
  3. nslyax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #3
    I don't think so

    Migration assistant requires the older mac be in target disk mode, so it is seen as just an external HD. Since target disk mode only works over FW and not USB, I am thinking it wouldn't be possible.
     
  4. tdhurst thread starter macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Okay

    I'm actually using Disk Utility to clone the old hard drive to a USB2 backup drive, wiping the old hard drive and installing leopard and then I'd like to use migration assistant to copy data/settings back on.

    I'm not going Mac to Mac, I'm going from Mac to external USB2 hd back to the Mac.

    Works yes?
     
  5. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #5
    Actually, Intel Macs can boot in target disk mode with USB 2.0.
     
  6. nslyax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Holland, MI
    #6
    Wasn't aware, but good to know.
     
  7. MDJCM macrumors regular

    MDJCM

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    UK, South
    #7
    How? When i hold T down it shows a firewire symbol bouncing around the screen
     
  8. MDJCM macrumors regular

    MDJCM

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    UK, South
    #8
    Thought i'd updated.

    You do this by booting using the "Alt" key, to see all bootable drives
     

Share This Page