Does MS Office skips some keystrokes in your Mac?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Fravin, Apr 7, 2017.

  1. Fravin macrumors regular

    Fravin

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    #1
    Whatever Mac I'm using (Macbook or iMac) MS Office seems to skip the first keystroke in a phrase. Every time I stop typing for a couple of seconds when I'll return to typing Office skips the first keystroke! o_O

    It just happens in Office. In the USB Apple's Keyboard or the magic one.

    Does Office skips keystrokes with you?
     
  2. Apples555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
  3. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I use MS-Office 2016 and MS-Office 2008 equally on my 2006 Mac Pro with El Capitan 10.11.6.

    I've never had that problem. I'd expect that something is causing a delay between when you press a key, and the computer realizing that you intend to enter information.

    One thing does come to mind, since you indicate that it occurs after a period of idle time. Perhaps the first keystroke is "waking" the computer from some type of idle power saving state?

    For example, if my computer has been unused for a few minutes, I have it set to go to the screen saver and require a password to unlock it.

    When I press a key, it brings up my password box. But the first keystroke that I used to exit the screen saver does not show up in my password box. Only the 2nd keystroke and later are applied to the password box.

    So... I'm thinking that if you haven't typed for a while, that perhaps your first keystroke is a "wake up" indicator, and then your second keystroke is entering information.
     
  4. Fravin thread starter macrumors regular

    Fravin

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    #4
    @flyinmac it could made sense. But I'm talking about a little pause for thinking, a couple of seconds...
     
  5. Falcon9 macrumors member

    Falcon9

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Location:
    Eastern Canada
    #5
    Haven't had that issue either (Office 2016, macOS sierra), but since you say it only happens in Office, that makes it sound like the issue is with the software. Have you tried re-installing office?
     
  6. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Ok. Then yes, it shouldn't be doing that. Something you might check is the auto save feature. Perhaps it could be set frequently, and it's taking advantage of your pause? Not real likely. But worth checking.

    You might also look for background tasks that are set to start when inactive times are found.
     

Share This Page