Does my iMac have the GT 130 AND the 9400m?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PurpleCliff, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. PurpleCliff macrumors regular

    PurpleCliff

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I'm just wondering if my 2.93 GHz iMac with the Nvidia GT 130 also has the Nvidia 9400m ... and if so when it uses it and if I can choose which one I want to use for certain things?
    I'm just concerned by how hot my iMac gets very quickly ... and interested what is in it :D
     
  2. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #2
    Click the Apple logo in the top left corner of the screen and select "About This Mac".

    On the little box that opens, select "More Info" and click through the component list until your heart is content.
     
  3. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    How hot is it getting and what are you doing when this happens?
     
  4. PurpleCliff thread starter macrumors regular

    PurpleCliff

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    If I do 1 hour of general internet browsing and file moving then touch it on the top left it is burning really hot. Is that what you wanted to know? :)
     
  5. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Not really. Of course it is hot coming out of the air vent. It is supposed to be.

    Install iStat Pro and monitor your temps, fans, and CPU use.
     
  6. PurpleCliff thread starter macrumors regular

    PurpleCliff

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Ok I've got it ... but I don't really know what I'm looking at :D

    CPU Fan is currently about 1200rpm and Hard Drive is 1600rpm
    HD: Macintosh is 56degrees (I don't know how to do the degrees sign on keyboard)
     
  7. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
  8. nickcliborne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Nut house
    #8
    Here's my 2.93 for to compare with. I'm doing some web surfing and listening to music through itunes.

    HD: 39c
    CPU A: 33c
    CPU A heatsink: 32c
    Ambient: 20c
    GPU Diode: 52c
    GPU Heatsink: 43c
    HD Bay 1: 37c
    Mem Controller: 33c
     
  9. seb-opp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    London/Norwich
    #9
    Im pretty sure the iMacs dont have two graphics cards, they are not advertised as having two in the specs online. It is a desktop, there is no need for them to save energy in the same way a notebook needs too.
     
  10. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #10
    They're ok for component temps .... i've had CPU's hit 60 before and GPU's hitting 80's
     
  11. Aegelward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I doubt it does, it would be fairly redundent for their desktop unit to use an intgerted GPU to save battery power..
     

Share This Page