Does my iMac need a new power supply?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mrsir2009, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    I think I'll need a new power supply for my iMac, but I just want to confirm before taking it in. I know this is a common question, but I have tried:

    •Resetting the PRAM, SMC.

    •Unplugging it and waiting 10 mins then plugging it back in.

    When I hit the power button before and after doing those things nothing happens AT ALL. No noise, nothing. It was working fine last time I used it (a few days ago).

    Do you guys think its the power supply?
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    it would seem likely im afraid :(

    try a different power point just to be sure!
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    PSU or logic board, let Apple have a look at it
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    $10 its PSU :p
     

Share This Page