does my macbook pro have a bad battery?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Harry-70, Aug 21, 2014.

  1. Harry-70 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #1
    hey guys so yesterday I got my macbook pro 15" (late 2013)iris pro and i am just using it. i have 4 tabs open in safari. and my battery drops about 4% in 2minutes
    i downloaded a app to check battery health it says health is at 104% and the battery has 5 cycles. i have my display at max display and my keypad light on max.:) any help is appreciated
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Battery life depends on CPU usage, display brightness and some other factors.
    Maybe those 4 tabs you have open have Flash videos playing in them?
    Maximum display brightness also takes its toll on battery life.

    ______________________________________________________
    This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:
    Apple Notebook Battery FAQ by GGJstudios
    The F.A.Q. includes the following topics:
    • BATTERY INFORMATION
    • BATTERY LIFE FROM A CHARGE
    • AC POWER
    • CALIBRATION
    • BATTERY LIFESPAN
    • CHECKING STATUS AND HEALTH
    • CHARGING
    • WHAT IS A CYCLE?
    • BATTERIES ARE NOT COVERED
    • BULGING OR SWELLING BATTERY


    ______________________________________________________
     
  3. Harry-70 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #3
    thanks for the reply, i have 1 video playing and 3 reading tabs
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
  5. Harry-70 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #5

    Attached Files:

  6. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #6
    I think you shouldn't obsess about it. Just start using your new MacBook and enjoy.

    Now that I see your Activity Monitor I highly encourage you to uninstall Flash. That's what's killing you.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    As you can see, and only MY PROCESSES are visible now, Flash consumes 30% of your CPU, though the CPU can go up to 800% anyway.
    Select to show all processes and sort again.
    [​IMG]

    And to make a screenshot of an entire window, press CMD+SHIFT+4, then press SPACEBAR, then move the mouse pointer over the window you want to shoot and click on it.

    And if you decide to create another screenshot, please have the CPU tab at th bottom open at the same time.

    And read that FAQ.
     

Share This Page