Does non touchbar MacBook Pro 13 lag in hidpi mode?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Raunien, Oct 31, 2016.

  1. Raunien macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #1
    For those of you who have the machine, does the machine lag when using it on higher resolutions? 1440x900 for example
     
  2. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    I've got mine on 1680x1050 and its fine so far.
     
  3. Raunien thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #3
    Nice, so the experience is much better compared to the previous rMBP?
     
  4. Saturn1217 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #4
    According to Ars Technica the new MBPs default to displaying 1440x900 mode instead of 1280x800. Hopefully that means no lag. Arstechnica seemed satisfied with UI performance in any case.
     
  5. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    This is my first retina machine, I've just tried switching between resolutions and it does feel a little snappier on the default setting of 1440x900.
     
  6. blackberrycubed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    #6
    can you try 1280x800 and see if it seems sharper and more fluid vs default ?
     
  7. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Ive been playing around with all differant resolutions including the native res of 2560x1600 using the app SetResX. TBH there is not much difference between even the lowest res and the highest in terms of fluidity, it seems like the intel GPU handles it easily.
     
  8. blackberrycubed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    #8
    awesome to hear the lag is gone, but retina mode should technically look the sharpest/best and am wondering if that is being sacrificed to run in 1440x900 mode.

    So you do not notice any difference (crispness) between those 2 ?
     
  9. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    Sorry what res is retina mode? Personally I don't like the 1440x900 default for display setting, everything is to big, I prefer the higher resolutions. 1650x1050 is perfect for me, feels like a have a bigger screen in that mode.
     
  10. blackberrycubed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    #10
    2560x1600 is the native panel resolution, retina mode will be the 1280x800 resolution.
     
  11. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    As another poster said, the retina mode on the new pros seems to be the 1440x900. Its the default setting, runs perfect on that setting as well.
     
  12. Nick.Xiao macrumors newbie

    Nick.Xiao

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    #12
    I have one. Coming from the Late 2013 model (which was defaulted to 1280*800, the Retina way of doing it, four pixels combined into one), the new default of 1440*900 was a bit too fuzzy for me. After appreciating the larger screen estate for something like 5 hours, I had to go back to 1280*800. I have to clarify that I'm quite picky with screens: the regular sized iPhone's 326 ppi is an awful experience to me, since I can easily spot individual pixels while day to day use. Plus sized ones with 401 ppi seemed MUCH better, and while I can easily discern a 400 ppi screen with a 500 one it no longer matters to me day to day.

    Fluidity-wise I did not experience special lag, the performance issues should have been largely mitigated considering them setting 1440*900 as the default.
     
  13. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    Ok after some research I fully understand your question now. To answer it I see no performance decrease when not using 1280x800, I now understand that setting uses perfect pixel doubling so should look the best but to me the higher resolutions look better, no lag either so its a win/win
     
  14. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #14
    Sans the 15" Retina pro with a dedicated GPU, this is the first Mac with a retina screen I have owned that does not have UI lag. Even the 2015 pro had UI lag.
     
  15. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #15
    Its my first Retina machine and i agree there is no UI lag on the 2016 base 13" Ive not used previous models but i would say the iGPU finally has enough power to render and scale retina resolutions without lag.
     
  16. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #16
    That is exactly what it is. The GPU can finally handle the Retina display.
     
  17. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #17
    Would be interesting to compare the iGPU in the 2015 model to the 2016 model.
     

Share This Page