Does OpenSSH work on 3GS?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by strike1555, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. strike1555 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #1
    Does it work for you guys? Every time I try to connect it says "Cannot initialize SFTP Protocol."
     
  2. dayloon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
    #2
    To be honest im beginning to think not as i've got problems with ssh as well
     
  3. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #3
    I have problems with it too. Hopefully the patch that will be release (hopefully soon) addresses these issues in addition to the mobilesubstrate issues.
     
  4. eatwasabi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    Works fine for me with winscp. I pick to connect with SSH though, not SFTP
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    It works.
    Dont use SFTP connect using SCP instead.
     
  6. NYR99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #6
    It work for me as well, using WinSCP and SCP instead of SFTP.

    I changed all my homescreen icons. :D
     
  7. OriginalMasta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #7
    purplera1n RC2 release fixes the openSSH and other library issues. SSH now works flawlessly like before without switching to SCP mode in cyberduck, etc. which didn't work before in RC1 even when using SCP mode.

    Everything works fine and if the app doesn't work, it's the app for version 3.0 Devs have to fix those issues (such as winterboard, etc.)
     
  8. Narco220 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    #8
    what els can you do with openssh apart from install themes?
     
  9. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    A SSH proxy tunnel to connect your pc/mac and use the iPhone as a modem.
     
  10. Gangis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    #10
    That's not necessary, since you can easily enable tethering on the iPhone now with 3.0.
     
  11. larzmac macrumors newbie

    larzmac

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #11
    WinSCP?

    I'm still having issues with SSHin' into my 3GS. Everything (I think) is updated. Works like a charm on my old iPhone running 3.0, but not my 3GS.
    Ideas?
     
  12. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    But I think you have to pay to have this option enabled ? I do not have it on mine.
     
  13. mstier09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #13
    I've had no problems at all with SSH on my 3GS! I am actually surprised to be reading this thread after having used it all night. I jailbroke using the Mac version of Purplera1n and have been using Cyberduck. I don't know what everyone else's set up is, but this one has been working great for me. So I don't know if its the jailbreak, as I haven't had any issues.
     
  14. conca macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    #14
    Hi all
    I can't connect with iPhoneTunnel and cyberduc Mac. with my 3gs.

    anyone can help me ?
    tnx
     
  15. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #15
    Do you have iTunes 8.2 ?
     
  16. mrrish macrumors regular

    mrrish

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
  17. bredfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    #18
    Make sure you check your IP address on the new phone.

    I was having issues trying to connect because I was trying to connect under my old 2G's IP. It didn't dawn on me until after several attempts that my router would have given the new device a new address.
     
  18. igotgame1075 macrumors member

    igotgame1075

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    #19
    This worked fined on my old 2g, but i keep getting this error for my 3gs when i try to connect...

    [​IMG]

    Using username: alpine
    Password: root
     
  19. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #20
    Those seem to be switched up..

    Default usernames & passwords for 3gS is

    username: root
    password: alpine

    username: mobile
    password: alpine
     
  20. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #21
    Make sure WiFi is activated. Check status bar for WiFi not 3G.

    Insomnia thru Cydia will keep Wifi activated while you are using SSH operations.

    These JB/UL phones have a tendency to shut off WiFi if it's not being used and drop down to 3G when at rest.
     
  21. tobra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #22
    Tx!!


    That's was it!!!! I had a 3G and now a 3GS and change root into mobile was the trick!! Tx so much!!
     

Share This Page