Does Pages have a Auto Text feature?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jwolf6589, May 28, 2018.

  1. jwolf6589 macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    I am typing out a document in pages as I write letters and one advantage of Word is that it has a auto text feature meaning I can have my address auto filled just by entering my name. Does Pages have a similar feature? I have looked and have been unable to find one. Considering the number of letters that I compose its a royal pain not to have my address auto filled. I like the launch time of Pages on my conventional HD as Word took 30 seconds to launch the first time.
     
  2. davidmartindale macrumors regular

    davidmartindale

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    PNW, USA
    #2
    I don't believe that Pages has a built in function like that, but, macOS does and it is system wide.

    Go to System Preferences>Keyboard>Text Replacements. You can then have "letter head" or whatever you want to use be replaced by "Name, address, number" for instance. It is a great feature IMO.

    NOTE:
    The same feature is available on iOS in Settings>General>Keyboard>Text Replacements
     
  3. NoBoMac macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #3
    Why not just setup a personal template for letters, with the address already in place?
     
  4. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Thats an idea if I continue to use Pages for word processing.
    --- Post Merged, May 28, 2018 ---
    Thanks for the input. I tried that but the address come all out on one line so I have to manually hit enter on the lines. A pain but it works. Thanks..
    --- Post Merged, May 28, 2018 ---
    Okay how do I create a template? Thanks..
     
  5. NoBoMac macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
  6. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 65816

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
  7. davidmartindale macrumors regular

    davidmartindale

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    PNW, USA
    #7
    Create the template or format in pages (stickies or textedit is fine as well). Once it is formatted as separate lines, copy and paste that into the "with" field in text replacements. That should do the trick, I have a few multi line replacements that I created that way that work fine.
     

Share This Page