Does Redsnow currently work with 5.0.1?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Vertigo50, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. Vertigo50 macrumors 65816

    Vertigo50

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #1
    Quick, and possibly stupid, question.

    Does the current version of Redsnow work with 5.0.1 as well as 5.0? I have 5.0.1 and am considering doing the tethered jailbreak, but wanted to make sure it works. I plan to follow the iClarified instructions, as I have done many times before.

    Also, where is the best source for information as to whether a version of Redsnow is compatible with newer versions? It seems like the Dev Team only posts about once a month on their site.
     
  2. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #2
    www.jailbreakqa.com is a great site, run by comex and chpwn.
     
  3. Fantasigraphic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #3
    YES! You need Redsn0w v0.9.9.8 and 5.0 (NOT 5.0.1) ipsw. When JB point it to the 5.0 ipsw
     
  4. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

    ericrwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #4
  5. Vertigo50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Vertigo50

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the help everyone.

    Just to make sure I'm understanding you all correctly:

    I start with 5.0.1 installed on my phone, download the 5.0 firmware, run Redsnow, and point it at the 5.0 firmware, even though I have 5.0.1 installed.

    When I'm finished, I'll still have 5.0.1 installed and jailbroken, right?
     
  6. Gix1k macrumors 68030

    Gix1k

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  7. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #8
    Tethered jailbreak only on 5.0.1 unless you have old bootrom 3GS.
     
  8. Ramasjang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #9
    Can I upgrade to iOS 5.0.1 via snowbreez to preserve bb, and then use redsnow to jb, and still remain on old bb?
     
  9. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #10
    Assume you have 3GS/iphone 4, then the answer is "Yes". If you have an Iphone 3G, 16gb as you indicate in your signature, then the answer is "No" because the latest firmware for 3G is 4.2.1.
     
  10. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #11
  11. Yumunum macrumors 65816

    Yumunum

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.
    #12
    It definitely works, I did it to my phone.

    Only problem is now I want to un-jailbreak and I have no idea how. Any help?
     
  12. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #13
    Put your phone in DFU mode, then restore it to Apple official firmware. However, if you have 3GS and it has Ipad baseband on it, then you are SOL because you can't get rid of this baseband.
     
  13. Yumunum macrumors 65816

    Yumunum

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.
    #14
    I plug in my phone, close iTunes, put phone in DFU mode, open iTunes, hit "Restore" and I have no luck... It says I can't get the requested build.
     
  14. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #15
    Which Iphone do you have and which firmware version/baseband on it?
     
  15. Yumunum macrumors 65816

    Yumunum

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.
    #16
    iPhone 4 AT&T, iOS 5.0.1 (9A405), 04.11.08
     
  16. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #17
    modify/edit your hosts file and you will be able to restore it.
     
  17. Yumunum macrumors 65816

    Yumunum

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.
    #18
    Great, I knew I rushed into things :p I don't know how or why I'd do those things, or what they are. :/
     
  18. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #19
    open terminal.

    paste this: sudo nano /private/etc/hosts

    then enter your mac password.

    that is your hosts file.
     

Share This Page