Does resetting the PRAM delete browser history.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ll PiStoNs ll, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. ll PiStoNs ll macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #1
    My and my friend were watching a movie on joox.net and the coputer froze (swirly thing) and wont reset. I dont want him to see we were on a video site when it froze. What can i do for history to reset or does resetting the pram do it
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    assuming they were in Safari ;)

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. ll PiStoNs ll thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #4
    yes we were but you dont understand. His computer will not restart!! It gets past the apple and then theres a little circle with a slash through it or empty folder or niothinbg
     
  5. Rondue macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    a new mac user so I Haven'texperienced the bad stuff yet, but I think that means you have a serious OS issue you may need to restore :(
     
  6. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #6
    Sounds like you might have a corrupted file system. How old is the computer or hard drive? It's likely that the hard drive also failed. Try booting from the install CD and check for errors.
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    To answer the question -- no, browser history is not saved in PRAM, it's saved on the hard drive. As long as the machine can't be started so you can clear the history, then that info is still present on the drive.

    (PS. stop browsing pr0n... :D )
     
  8. ll PiStoNs ll thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    #8
    turns out it was the HD failed, he had to take it into apple they gave him a new bottom case and keyboard due to the crack and discoloration
     
  9. kage207 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #9
    Even though I know the problem has been solved but... I know of a virus in Windows that is loaded into the RAM before the OS even starts and it causes corruption in the OS and sometimes stops the OS from even starting to boot.

    And yes, I know this is Mac but I wanted to point that out. And yes Mac doesn't even have half as many viruses as windows. :p
     

Share This Page