Does Siri reach out to Apple's servers to execute a command?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by iFanaddic, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. iFanaddic macrumors 6502a

    iFanaddic

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #1
    Does siri use my internet connection when I'm asking it to set a timer, change songs, write a message to... ect.

    I would assume siri only uses my data plan when I'm asking it to lookup stuff online and that commands can be done "on its own" right?
     
  2. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  3. nathanlloyd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Really hope this changes when it comes out of beta.

    Driving home from work yesterday...
    Me: "Play songs by xxx"
    Siri: "I'm sorry, I can't seem to connect to the network"

    It's ludicrous! Why does it need to connect to the network for tasks like that?!
    :mad:
     
  4. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #4
    http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2...-is-siri-on-an-iphone-4s-ars-investigates.ars

    Siri connects to the web because, among other things, it allows the Siri team to see the requests coming through and continually adjust the way that Siri interprets the requests. Apple replaced the old Voice Control (which has the syntactical commands like 'Play song by <artist>") which didn't need network but it was really spotty in understanding you. You lose an occasionally working feature for something that works well, and, over time, gets better.
     
  5. FSMBP macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #5
    I dunno, I think Apple should let Voice Control work when you have no access to their Siri Server. At the end of the day, if I request to play songs by an artist, I would expect it to (as it did with my 3GS with Voice Control).
     
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
    That's something that's very much against Apple's approach for consistency. If it started out as Siri, who can understand natural language, but then all of a sudden you had to contend with the plain Voice Control because of no network, it wouldn't understand because it requires commands to be spoken to a strict syntax. You wouldn't be familiar with this syntax because Siri has taught you otherwise. You'd probably end up more frustrated than before.
     
  7. Blipp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #7
    I see both the users' and Apple's point of view on this. Both sides have valid arguments but it seems to me like there is a simple compromise available that would meet everyone's needs. If the the reason it wants a data connection even for tasks that don't require Siri to look beyond what's already on the phone is so they can track questions and answers I don't see why Siri couldn't cache these results and dump them to Apple once the phone has a connection.
     
  8. nathanlloyd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Totally agree with what you're saying here but I'm guessing Apple find it hard to see what you're requesting when there's no signal ;)
     
  9. Vizin, Nov 3, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  10. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Voice control is there on the 4s just turn Siri off and it appears.
     
  11. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #11
    The problem as I see it, with the entire "computing in the cloud strategy" is that no matter what company implements it, or provides the service, we are subject to our internet connection being always on and functional. The moment we are "offline" we are left with only what is resident on our devices.

    It's for this very reason I have built a very comprehensive and robust home network. NAS for backup, and fiber for data flow. But in fairness this was very expensive and done when the house was being built last year. I have a vast amount of fiber, with wireline for backup / redundancy in virtually every wall in the house. Something like this is not possible, practically speaking, in an existing home.
     
  12. Vizin, Nov 3, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  13. Defender2010 macrumors 68030

    Defender2010

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #13


    don't see the relevance to this thread....just a boasting opportunity
     
  14. Vizin, Nov 3, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  15. Nielsenius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #15
    Massive porn downloads.
     
  16. BLee17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Thanks for sharing.
     
  17. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #17
    I do think there should be a seamless way of moving between Siri and the native voice command system. Something like this:

    Me: Siri, call my wife at work.
    Siri: I am having trouble connecting to the network. Would you like to try your request on voice command?
    Me: Yes.
    iPhone: Beep beep.
    Me: Call Jane Doe -- work.
    iPhone: Calling Jane Doe -- work.
     
  18. nini1026 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #18
    Thanks for your sharing. It reads quite interesting and seems to make sense.:)
     
  19. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #19
    Yes, there definitely needs to be a "little siri" in the phone as a backup.
     

Share This Page