Does Spore Need the CD?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by BradB, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. BradB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #1
    I have a brother and we are both paying for the game. I'm on a macbook and he's on vista. Do you need the disc inserted at all times to play it? Then we could both play it.
     
  2. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #2
    You don't need the disc on Mac to play, Vista I can't confirm though.
     
  3. BradB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #3
    Sweet. Worst comes to worst, my bro can use the cd, since I don't need it anyway.

    :)
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    The DRM with Spore is different than others. You don't require the CD to play (in fact you can read this on the spore website) but your limited to 3 installations. Beyond 3, you need to contact them and get the count extended.
     
  5. BradB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #5
    I know about that, it's only being installed on 2. If you uninstall, does it give you 1 back? Just curious.
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    Sadly uninstalling Spore does not reset the count.
     
  7. muldul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Sussex, England, UK
    #7
    You don't need the disc for mac or pc after installation and uninstalling doesn't give you it back, also if you upgrade your operating system, that counts for one, but I'm not sure how that would work.
     
  8. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    that sucks... what if you re-install your OS and what not...i would hate to pay for reinstall
     
  9. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #9
    There's nothing that states a pay for reinstall where are you getting that?

    You bought the game and do not need to pay anything else, but if you install it and reinstall it enough times (3 is the limit) then you have to contact them to verify that YOU need the additional installs and no one else.

    There's FAQ's on this at the spore site.
     
  10. Nimby12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    #10
    im confused does spore use a disk and if it dosnt how do u install it?

    im really confused today im buying spore i cant tell if u install it or u wait a day or so for the disk to come plz help me out :confused:
     

Share This Page