Does T-Mobile have a 3G network?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by laxmax613, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. laxmax613 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #1
    in june, when the new iPhone is speculated to be released, i might get one. Mu only question is if T-Mobile has a 3G network. AT&T is pretty expensive, and i already have T-Mobile.

    Thanks in advance, laxmax613.
     
  2. hypmatize macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    No T-Mobile does not currently have a 3g network although I heard that they will have theirs up by the end of this year or the beginning of next year. I got a T-Mobile contract also due to at&t being so expensive and i didn't think 3g was important enough for me to wait for T-Mobile to roll out their 3g network. Besides i can find wifi hot spots all over the place :)
     
  3. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #3
    T-Mobiles planned 3G (1700Mhz) network will operate on a different frequency than AT&T's 3G (2100Mhz) network.
    The 3G iPhone will not be compatible with T-Mobiles 3G network.
    That is unless Apple puts a multi band 3G chip in the new phone. But I highly doubt it.
     
  4. f1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #4
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but T-Mobiles proposed 3G network will be on 2100 mhz and 1700 mhz while AT&T's current 3G network is 1900 mhz and 850 mhz. I wouldn't rule out the possibility of a mutliband chip there is a chance that the upcoming 3G iPhone will support the 1900, 850, and 2100 bands afterall the European 3G networks operate on the 2100mhz band.
     
  5. spinstorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #5
    Of course Apple would put a 3G chip for as many different frequencies as possible!

    This will be an international phone and 3G is on different bands all over the world - it would be like cutting off your own arms if they didn't have a chip compatable with different frequencies around the world!
     
  6. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #6
    I was just reading a press release from early this year on T-Mobiles 3G plans and it was mentioned that they could not use the standard frequencies in the US.
    None of us has seen the final specs for the chip going into the new iPhone, so we can only guess right now as to what it will be capable of.
     
  7. f1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #7
    T-Mobile will not be using standard frequencies. 2100 and 1700 are not used by any carriers right now in the US. AT&T runs its 3G network on 1900 and 850 mhz bands.

    Although we know nothing about the upcoming 3G iPhone, i'm willing to bet that you will be able to use it on T-Mobiles network as European GSM operators run 3G networks exclusively on the 2100 mhz spectrum.
     
  8. djorn2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #8
    Okay. It's official that T-mobile is rolling out their 3G network starting tomorrow.

    http://www.engadget.com/2008/04/30/t-mobile-rolling-out-3g-tomorrow-in-new-york-sorry-new-jersey/
     

Share This Page