Does T-Mobile need an SSN?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ghanwani, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. ghanwani, Aug 20, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2015

    ghanwani macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #1
    I went to the T-Mobile store and was thinking of switching to their service, because I recently moved and AT&T coverage is really bad at the new place.

    The rep said that in order to get post-paid service I must provide my SSN and have them run a soft credit check. Pre-paid service doesn't include features like wifi calling, international data, and free calls to Mexico and Canada. I asked if it's possible to pay a deposit. He said they only know whether to take a deposit or not after they run the credit check.

    So, has anyone here signed up for T-Mobile post-paid service without an SSN?

    This blogger:
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/adamtan...bile-really-need-your-social-security-number/
    says it's possible, but that was written in 2013.

    Has the policy changed, or is the store rep incorrect?

    Thanks.
     
  2. hawon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #2
    They do and also check your credit for phone purchase
     
  3. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    If you won't want to give them your information they also have "no credit check" postpaid plans but with these you will not be able to finance any phones.
     
  4. ghanwani thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #4
    I don't care about financing phones and I'm willing to leave a deposit if necessary. I just don't want to give out my SSN to yet another company that can lose it and send me a free credit monitoring service. I've already gotten 4 free credit monitoring services from various companies losing my info over the last few years.

    Unfortunately, according to the rep, the only plans available without SSN are prepaid and that excludes some key services.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Like it or not, you're entering into a financial relationship with the carrier and as such you need to provide the SSN. As mentioned with T-Mo, you have an option, but even that is limited.
     
  6. Ctguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    #6
    I switched to tmobile last October to their postpaid plan. I didn't give out my SSN, only deposited $80. SSN is required if you finance the phone.
     
  7. Applejuiced, Aug 21, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2015

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Like he said, get used to it.
    Your SSN is needed almost everywhere nowadays.
    And since you already have credit monitoring service protection then make it easier on yourself and give them your SSN.
     
  8. ghanwani thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #8
    I'm bringing my own phone and I mentioned I'd be willing to pay a deposit, but the sales rep was adamant that he can't offer a post-paid plan without an SSN.

    I plan to stop by again today and see if it can be done without an SSN. Otherwise I might still cave in and switch anyway.
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    Unfortunately, pretty much just by default, the fact that the government itself (the entity that assigns the SSN to people) has that information, along with quite a bit more about pretty much everyone, already essentially puts it out there given that there are almost always some sort of government data leaks, losses, hacks, and what-have-you.
     
  10. travis64 macrumors 6502a

    travis64

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    NEW YORK
    #10
    I am on tmobile prepaid and wifi calling works great

    $30 ult internet and text with 100mins
    Use the free magic jack app and its free ult calling to

    Its not a soft pull its a hard pull don't believe them
     
  11. timeconsumer macrumors 65816

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #11
    This is correct, I still have an inquiry on my credit report from t-mobile. In my case it was a hard pull as well.
     
  12. ghanwani thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #12
    So I was holding out for iOS 9 hoping it will give me wifi calling with AT&T. It turns out that won't work with iOS. What a disappointment.

    So now I have 2 options. Expensive option is to buy a new iPhone. The cheaper option is to suck it up and give my SSN to T-Mobile. What would you do? :D

    Aside from the SSN issue and potential issues with coverage, are there any downsides to switching to T-Mobile? Can you browse and take phone calls at the same time?
     
  13. travis64 macrumors 6502a

    travis64

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    NEW YORK
    #13
    Its not a more expensive option buying the phone in full and going pre paid tmobile

    Pre paid also has wifi calling and u can browse and talk
     
  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    find the plan that best suits my needs and go with it, yes that does mean providing my SSN. If you want anything other then a pre-paid plan that is going to be a requirement for any carrier, not just t-mo.
     
  15. JPIndustrie macrumors 6502a

    JPIndustrie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #15
    Sounds like a lot of misinformation. Have you tried another t-mo store or calling their 1800 sales number? It sounds like the rep gets a higher commission on the plans/packages that do require SSN/credit check.
     

Share This Page