Does the 15 inch macbook pro come equip with two video card?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bankaimadness, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. Bankaimadness macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    I check the system profiler and saw that there was a intel video card and an nvidia gt 330m.

    Can you switch between the two?
     
  2. MaxMike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #2
    One the most current MacBook Pros, OS X automatically switches between the Intel and NVIDIA graphics. If there is graphics power needed, the 330M will be used. If you are just commonly web surfing or other light tasks, the Intel graphics will be used to conserve battery
     
  3. Bankaimadness thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    I was wondering.. I was surfing the net and I just see this video distortions. If one of your video card fails can you switch to another one?
     
  4. Mabyboi macrumors 6502

    Mabyboi

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    IF one of your video cards fails, take it to the apple store and get it fixed :D
     
  5. ZebOfMac macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #5

    So does the OS do this on its own or is it similar to older models where you instruct the machine which one to run? :cool:
     
  6. riverwater macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    #6
    The OS chooses, but you can install "gfxCardStatus" to choose you own.
     

Share This Page