Does The Aluminum Macbook...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SuperDayv, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. SuperDayv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #1
    Does the aluminum Macbook have a VGA card supporting component video (Y, Pr, Pb) signal output function?
     
  2. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #2
    Yes, but indirectly; you would have to go minidisplayport to VGA adapter, then VGA to YPbPr.
     
  3. SuperDayv thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #3
    So if I buy the Minidisplay to VGA adapter, and couple that with this would it work? Keeping in mind I don't have an HD TV, I'd plug them into the red/yellow/white plugs. I've been getting different answers from different forums.
     
  4. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #4
    Yeah that should work, you'd have to spend some time guessing which one is red, yellow, and white. But essentially the signal is traveling through the cable, doesn't matter that it's not hooked up to green, red, blue. Get what i'm saying?

    So yeah, I think that should work.
     
  5. JustGretchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #5
    You can't plug Component cables into Composite connections on a TV.
    It won't do anything because component is strictly video and composite is one video connection and 2 sound connections.

    You need the Mini DisplayPort > VGA adapter.

    Then a VGA > to S-Video/RCA
    http://www.amazon.com/EFORCITY-VGA-S-Video-RCA-Adaptor/dp/B000P3UB24

    Then a single RCA Patch cable (available at radio shack) to go from the adapter to your TV because both yellow plugs on are female.

    And a 3.5mm stereo plug > RCA (red/white) also at radio shack.

    That will get your video and sound into your old TV that has only COMPOSITE connection.
     
  6. SuperDayv thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #6
    Does the video card have TV output capability?
     
  7. oneEG6 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #7
    Yes, that's what the replies are telling you.
     
  8. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #8
    Yes, I understand that, but won't it still work because the red and white audio signals still have a metal wire to travel through? It's not like that cable can only carry video, so I think you could use that but that just what I think.
     

Share This Page