Does the AppleTV control center App work?

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by LarryJoe33, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    I have an older generation ATV and the control center app looks like it is built for the newer Siri models. Doesn't work for me. Just "searches" for devices.
     
  2. kiranmk2 macrumors 6502a

    kiranmk2

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #2
    Yep, I’ve got an atv3 and 4. The AppleTV app works with both no problem (home button even works which wasn’t on the original remote), but the AppleTV control centre widget only sees the ATV 4.
     
  3. FFocuSS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #3
    I have a 2nd gen Apple TV and the control center widget doesn't work for me either - I also get the "searching" message. The ATV Remote app from the app store works fine, so I guess I'll keep using that.
     
  4. LordQ Suspended

    LordQ

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
  5. john g. macrumors member

    john g.

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #5
    AT3 here and the control center widget only searches. The app itself works just like before, just not the widget.
     
  6. TransPNG macrumors newbie

    TransPNG

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Not work for my Apple TV 3.
    Maybe only works for Apple TV 4 / 4K.
     
  7. Cseaman1975 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Exactly the same issue here - spoke to Apple support last night but they couldn’t help - due to call me back tonight - looks like Apple want us to bin the atv3 and buy atv4 or atv4k instead!
     
  8. davyh macrumors newbie

    davyh

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    #8
    The widget works with my 4th Gen, no need to have the app installed now
     
  9. andyp350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #9
    This is probably my favourite new feature to iOS 11. So convenient being able to control Apple TV without having to even unlock my phone. Just raise to wake and swipe for the control centre
     
  10. danny842003 macrumors 6502a

    danny842003

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    #10
    Not working on my 3 either. Was one of the features in ios11 I was most looking forward to as well.
    I will just have to wait until my 4kTV arrives

    Not implementing a feature you have managed without for the last 5 and a half years is making your device obsolete?
     
  11. LarryJoe33 thread starter macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Ok thanks everyone. So I’m not alone. The actual App works fine. One less control center widget to clutter my control center I guess.
     

Share This Page

10 September 19, 2017