Does the latest aluminum macbook work with ddr2 memory?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by DavidCL23, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. DavidCL23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    Also, will it really affect speeds significantly if I use ddr2 2X2gb pc-6400 crucial sticks instead of ddr3 memory?

    Thanks in advance guys, the macbooks arriving tonight and I have the hard drive upgrade ready (320gb seagate 7200rpm). Would be nice to be able to re-use my old macbook pro ram too.

    -David
     
  2. DavidCL23 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    Thanks buddy! Gonna look out for a somewhat reasonably prices supplier of ddr3 laptop memory :) I like to max out a machine as soon as I receave it.
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    This whole idea of "maxing out" notebooks is absurd. If you only use the internet and a few words docs, whats the point in having 4GB ram? or the biggest hard drive out there? In case if you look at my signature, I upgraded from 1GB and the store I went to didn't have a good deal on 2GB. It was either 2GB for 50 or 4GB for the same price. Unless you do serious video or audio or photo stuff, 2GB is plenty.
     

Share This Page