Does the new Apple TV fix the frame skipping/judder problem?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jonnyb, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
  2. Dan DRC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #2
    I would like to know this too.
    I did find that following the advice of others on the forum and adjusting some of the options on my TV that have to do with frame rate do help the issue quite a bit but sometimes it is still there. I would get an ATV3 if this issue was resolved completely.
     
  3. Divebus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    #3
    Skippy is alive and well

    I just unwrapped my AppleTV 1080p and it still skips frames just like the 720p version. This is while playing from my personal movie library (not from a service). HD is encoded at 3.5Mbits and I'm using wired gigabit Ethernet to deliver it. Plays fine on the Mac Pro it's coming from. Frustrating.
     
  4. jonnyb thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I'm amazed Apple hasn't fixed this. I was ready to get the new Atv in a flash if this had been sorted out. 1080p content is nice, of course but I'd like to watch any content - SD 720p or 1080p without that irritating stutter.
     
  5. atandon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #5
    Hmmm.... I personally haven't seen this with both 720p and 1080p files.
    I watched the Descendants from the itunes store as well as one of my own 1080p movies (off the home share) and I don't see any skips or stutters.
    I have a 100Mbps wired network
     
  6. jonnyb thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Is it just one of those things that only some people see? Certainly, my other half can't see it.
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    If you encode it to the wrong profile, of course it can skip.

    Try an iTunes trailer to see if it skips.
     
  8. jonnyb, Mar 19, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012

    jonnyb thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    On my current Apple TV 2 I can see on it iTunes movies that I downloaded from the iTunes Store.
     
  9. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
  10. jonnyb thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
  11. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #11
    That should be fine... have you tried selecting 60Hz output on the Apple TV? If you leave it as "Auto" it will default to 50Hz since it's a UK TV, even though most iTunes content is at 23.976fps and so better suited to 60Hz.
     
  12. jonnyb thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    Yep - switching between 50 and 60Hz didn't make any difference, sadly.
     
  13. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #13
    It doesn't actually. "Auto" on mine defaults to 1080p/60Hz on a UK TV. I guess it picks the most suitable mode it can find that the TV supports, and modern TVs support both frequencies.
     
  14. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #14
    Do you have the same TV as the OP? Are you having the same kinds of problems?
     
  15. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #15
    I do have a very similar TV actually as it happens. No problems here. I have only used iTunes 1080p and Netflix HD content and the output is set to Auto i.e. 1080p/60, and no skipping, juddering or other unpleasant issues to report. If people have a problem it must be something to do with the way the files were encoded I guess.
     
  16. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #16
    No problems here on my G10 either (which defaults to 50Hz though it's perfectly capable of 60). Maybe some kind of frame interpolation that's come on?
     
  17. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #17
    Good point - TV manufacturers like to add all these exotic modes like DRC that sound good on the in-store promotional materials. In my experience, with a good plasma set they add absolutely nothing, so I always make sure they are turned off.
     
  18. jonnyb thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    I have all the extra frame interpolation features turned off. I don't get the judder on all content so it must be to do with film framerates vs TV refresh rates vs TV content framerates. i have a rudimentary understanding of why those things can conflict and cause issues but I'm no expert.

    I'm picking up a new Apple TV 3 today anyway as i sold my old one for a song, so I'm about to find out for myself if things have improved at all. Thanks for all the feedback.
     

Share This Page