Does the new iMac now work with the 30" Cinema display?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zer0tails, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. zer0tails macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    As the thread title says, does anyone know if the new iMac with the ATI 4870 gpu support the 30" ACD now?
     
  2. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
  3. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    I thought it already worked with the 30 inch ACD.
     
  4. zer0tails thread starter macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    30" Apple cinema display the old one :)

    And no the iMac didn't support the 30" in the past. But now with the graphic cards with support for dual link DVI, i was hoping it might. :p
     
  5. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #5
    According to Apple's tech support, with an adapter it supports dual link DVI, so YES it does!
     
  6. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Can anyone confirm this? / picture, anyone?
     
  7. Aadhil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Do people already have the new macs in their hands :eek:
     
  8. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    yes, some of the models are already up for sale. (not the high end ones, they ship in november). the imac 24" from early 2009 is not on the list of unsupported devices for the 30" ACD either though, so I am asking:

    does anyone have a picture of an early 2009 iMac (or a new late 2009 iMac) being used with a 30" Apple Cinema Display?
     
  9. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #9
    Wait until the 30" ACD is updated to displayport. The dual link DVI adapter is known to be junk.
     
  10. dyn macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #10
    Or get the Dell 3008WFP and a mDP-DP cable from Monoprice or Circuit Assembly if you really don't feel like waiting forever. It's also the cheapest option.
     

Share This Page