Does the Quad Core have a different motherboard?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sinsinnati, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. Sinsinnati macrumors regular

    Sinsinnati

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #1
    Does the Quad Core iMac have a different motherboard from the Core 2 Duo?
     
  2. onedamngoal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    #2
    Uses a different socket. Assuming it uses a different board.
     
  3. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #3
    I would imagine that it does. After all, the i5 and i7 processors move away from the standard LGA775 socket that the Core 2 Duo used. It also removes the FSB and replaces it exclusively with DMI. Finally, it was released along with the P55 chipset (and all Lynnfield mobos use it), and I assume that's what Apple uses for the quads. I would be VERY surprised if they had the same board.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Yes. Quads uses LGA 1156 while LGA 775. Also, quads have built-in memory controller while C2Ds needs a separate one.
     
  5. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #5
    Yes, they both use very different and physically incompatible logicboard architectures. I'm sure the boards could be swapped though, if you're thinking of changing from a C2D to an i5 in a few years.
     
  6. nicroma macrumors 6502a

    nicroma

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #6
    I wonder if the layout is noticeably different...
    Hopefully iFixIt has a tear down soon. I wont be curious enough anytime soon to open mine up though.
     
  7. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #7
    Oh I would not bet on that. Getting an iMac board would be very difficult and expensive anyway.

     
  8. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I'd bet that it has a completely different chipset also since Nvidia was unable to get rights to make chipsets compatible with the i5 / i7.
     
  9. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #9
    Never seen eBay?
     

Share This Page