Does the Quadro 5600 work with Adobe CS/CC on Mac Pro 1,1 running Mav/Yos?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by undermind, Apr 1, 2015.

  1. undermind macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #1
    Hello All,

    I've learned a lot reading these forums over the last few years. This is my first actual post here - why not create another video card thread, right? I know... I'm sorry, I've searched a ton, and can't get a straight answer on this.

    I'm performing an OS upgrade/Mod to run Yosemite on a new drive in my Mac Pro 1,1. The guide I'm using suggests the Radeon 5770 as a reliable graphic card choice. I was about to pull the trigger on that card when I was told that the 5770 hangs on loading Adobe PS. Their guess as to why this happens is because PS assumes their working with a EFI64 machine, so they start EFI64 processes which hangs up the EFI32 Mac Pro 1,1.

    I'm hoping someone can give me the low down. I have heard that Nvidia cards work better with Adobe CS/CC. It has been suggested that I get a Quadro 5600 instead due to this issue. BTW, I'm hoping to run my LG ultrawide 34UM65 monitor at the 2560 x 1080 resolution it's looking for, and run boot screens.

    Thanks!
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    G80 doesn't have new enough compute support to run Mercury Engine
     
  3. undermind thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #3
    I don't understand. Are you referring to the GeForce 8800? I made no mention of that card...
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  5. undermind thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #5
    Hi MacVidCards, I know you're trying to help, but your replies are very vague, and I have no idea if it's relevant information. In my post, I talked about Adobe Photoshop. From what I've seen, Mercury Playback engine effects Adobe Premiere. I will not be using Premiere. I'm simply looking for a card that will function on a Mac Pro 1,1 running Yosemite - without hanging on Adobe PS. I also use Illustrator and Muse.

    Thanks
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    No offense, but this is a complete BS. Every single word. "They" don't know what they're talking about.
     
  7. undermind thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #7
    OK, thank you. That's the kind of info I am looking for. This came from a store that only sells Mac Pro video cards. He is very thorough with testing and communication - and that was the experience he has personally had with the 5770. That's why I'm double checking here.
     
  8. phrehdd, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2015

    phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #8
    I'll just say for my needs, using PS CS6, I find that the GPU is last on my list and the CPU as well as RAM first on the list. After that would be using an SSD. Even on a quad Mac Mini, there is a difference with maxed RAM and SSD.
     
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    His explanation makes no sense at all. Most likely there was something wrong with the card, its ROM or OS in which he was testing it. There's no physical possibility that PS "would assume" something...
    Another BS is recommending FX 5600 nowadays, especially for PS. Stay away from such "experts".
     
  10. TBear12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    #10
    Hey undermind, I am running a 1.1 MacPro with Mavericks and an Apple 5770. I can use Photoshop CS6 just fine. Hope that helps!
     
  11. Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
  12. undermind thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #12
    Yeah, I've actually looked through that thread, and have posted there as well. There was zero reference to Adobe CC/CS hanging in that entire thread.

    That does help - and is precisely the reason I asked.

    It seems that I was basically given innocently bad info. I was just wanting to be cautious. I was actually able to grab a GeForce GTX 570 at a good price. I put it in and it works great. Runs my LG 34um65 at 2560x1080 perfectly, and looks great.

    Thanks for the comments!
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page