Does the recovery partition matter?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AppleSmack, May 29, 2017.

  1. AppleSmack, May 29, 2017
    Last edited: May 29, 2017

    AppleSmack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #1
    I usually make a bootable clone before applying OS updates – it's useful as a snapshot in case the update breaks some functionality.

    When I update from, for example OSX 10.12.4 to 10.12.5, the recovery partition is automatically updated too.

    Let's suppose that my bootable clone doesn't include the recovery partition.

    If I later restore my 10.12.4, does it matter that the recovery partition is still 10.12.5?

    And what about after major OS updates… if I restore my 10.12.x, does it matter that the recovery partition is 10.13.x?

    Edit: MBP 2016, Sierra 10.12.5
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    No it won't matter.

    When you do a full macOS version update like from 10.12.x to 10.13.x if no recovery or an old recovery partition is found, the OS installer will create one for the new version.
     
  3. AppleSmack thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #3
    Thanks @Weaselboy.

    If I restore from my 10.12.x bootable clone, and do NOT run the OS installer (because I wouldn't need to)... are there any potential problems with using OS 10.12.x with the 10.13.x recovery?
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Just normal operation, no... but some features like Filevault require the recovery partition and I'm thinking (not sure) having a complete version mismatch like that would cause Filevault not to work. But otherwise no. You can have no Recovery partition at all and it will run.
     
  5. AppleSmack thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5
    Thanks for your answer @Weaselboy, I'll chance and see what happens, as I'm not using FileVault at the moment anyway.
     

Share This Page