Does the Ultrafine 4K display work with windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by j.quintana, Jan 28, 2017.

  1. j.quintana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #1
    Since everything got really slow after I hooked up my 2016 MacBook to the Ultrafine 4K display I am thinking of switching back to Windows again after 1,5 years with Mac OS. I seriously don't want to pay 2500-3000 Euros for a MBP just to drive the monitor while maintaining an acceptable overall performance.

    The problem is: I LOVE this monitor. It is the perfect size for me and the extra resolution (compared to standard 4K) is very welcome. There simply aren't enough 21-22" 4K displays out there. They usually start at 23,6" and then they offer only standard 4K resolution.

    So I'd really like to keep the Ultrafine 4K, but I am worried that it won't work under Windows with full resolution AND 60Hz. Wikipedia says that Thunderbolt 3 / USB-C only supports a resolution of up to 4096 x 2160 and the Ultrafine 4K has a higher vertical resolution of 2304. So I wonder if there is some magic going on like when you use the Ultrafine 5K on a Mac and two lanes are used to transfer this huge resolution to the monitor. If the same would be the case with the 4K monitor it probably won't work with Windows in full resolution.
     
  2. ra004e, Jan 29, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017

    ra004e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #2
    It will work fine in in Windows 10, with a few issues as long as you have a Displayport to USB-C interface on your machine. I'm using it on Windows 10 with Intel NUC ( http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-nuc6i7kyk-features-configurations.html ). I believe the new i5/i7 Kabylake NUCs should work fine as well. There will be no controls however, i.e. brightness. After sleep, Sometimes Windows will complain that the hardware is unrecognized and might need to power cycle monitor to fix, but works afterwards. Hope this helps, truly is a great monitor and LG really should include this monitor in their Windows control app they provide for their other 4k monitors for control. BTW, yes it does support the full resolution ( 4096 x 2304 @ 60 Hz ) in Windows 10
     
  3. j.quintana thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #3
    Thank you for your feedback. I am thinking about an i7 Kaby Lake NUC.

    So just for clarification: It works with the full 4096x2304 resolution? Because I have read that the iGPU of the Kaby Lake CPUs only works up to 3840x2160.
     
  4. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #4
    Scaling doesn't work as well though. So look forward to some fun with tiny icons and text in windows. Mac OS seems to handle 4K better in my experience.
     
  5. ra004e, Jan 30, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2017

    ra004e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #5
    I can only confirm 4096x2304 resolution with the NUC I used 4k with (http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-nuc6i7kyk-features-configurations.html) and is working. If this is the NUC you're looking to acquire ( http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-nuc7i7bnh.html ) then here are the specs ( https://ark.intel.com/products/97541/Intel-Core-i7-7567U-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-4_00-GHz ) for it's cpu/gpu and should be not an issue for using 4096x2304 @ 60Hz resolution on Windows 10.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 30, 2017 ---
    This is true for the most part, on most current software have not noticed any issues. On 4k though there are situations where Windows10/Linux style of HiDPI I prefer better, as whole display is not scaled, but elements are ( text, icons, widgets, etc ). Just mentioning for original thread starter as Windows 10 is quite awesome and usable with this monitor and Windows 10 HiDPI implementation is very good.
     
  6. j.quintana thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #6
    Great, this is the link I needed. I have only found a much shorter spec list so far.

    I'm really glad that I will be able to use this monitor with Windows 10. I just hope that the issue with the unrecognized hardware will not occur too often. How often does it happen with your NUC? And what do you mean with power cycling? Since the monitor does not have physical controls does it mean that I have to unplug the power cable and plug it back in? That would be quite annoying if this happened frequently.
     
  7. ra004e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #7

    Sorry to say it does happen a bit on my NUC, I have a https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017VXT1E...lid=2HKRRCBC8FLB3&coliid=I3LS2P835DWQI0&psc=1 on my desk as an on/off switch to power cycle monitor when needed. The issue can be minimized by using a screen saver for a while before putting display to sleep. Hopefully LG/Intel will update drivers/software so this won't be as much of an issue in the future. If it's any consolation I have to power cycle my Dell P2415Q quite a bit for similar reasons with both this NUC and other computers. It could just be intel iGPUs as I use these the most, but to use LG 4k other than some laptops with dGPU, I'm not sure if any other GFX cards support DP-USB-B connections.
     

Share This Page