Carrier Does the Verizon iPhone 7 need to be activated on Verizon before use with another carrier?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mzsigler, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. mzsigler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #1
    I'm on Tmobile right now, and plan to stay on tmobile through the end of the year. I might switch to Verizon early next year depending on where I end up moving. I can pick up a new in box 7 Plus Verizon version right now. Will I have any issues just putting my Tmobile sim in it or do I need to have him open it up and put his Verizon sim in it to activate it?
     
  2. mzsigler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #2
    Anyone? I'm getting conflicting information from searching.
     
  3. AndrewWx macrumors regular

    AndrewWx

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ventura CA
  4. mzsigler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #4
    Yeah, it's actually a guy I know so I don't mind him opening it and putting the sim card in, but I'd rather him not have to do that if it's not necessary.
     
  5. vngannxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #5
    Short Answer- No.

    The FCC requires Verizon to sim unlock their LTE phones. No activation needed. Just insert your sim card (T-Mobile/ATT/International) before booting up. I'm using a T-Mobile SIM on a Verizon iPhone 7 Plus, and it works great.
     
  6. mzsigler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #6
    Yeah I know it will be sim unlocked, I just didn't know how activation will work.
     
  7. Mosi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Nations Capital
    #7
    If you buy the phone outright there is no issue. If you want to buy on the upgrade program or installment plan you will have to activate on Verizon. Trust me, it happened to me. Ended up paying outright.
     
  8. mzsigler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #8
    Awesome, thanks.
     
  9. Mosi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Nations Capital
    #9
    No problem. If any issues come up, tell them you want to buy it as "Device only". It will charge the full retail amount and you won't even have to open the box in the store.
     

Share This Page