Does this have firewire and express card slot ?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JMacPro, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. JMacPro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
  2. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    Yes. Zoom in on the photo of the left side of the unit.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    You can't link from within the education store.

    Also, if you don't know what they look like, why do you even need them?
     
  4. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #4
    Pulls up a "Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo" for me. OP, is that what you were looking at?
     
  5. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    Only the 17" MBP's have ExpressCard now. 13" & 15" have SD slots.

    Edit: New only. Refurbs still have EC on the 15".
     
  6. JMacPro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #6
    DOH.. I see the Firewire now. I didn't realize there were more pictures. I know the slot is for the expresscard but I can't tell if it's a functioning slot or just a dummy slot. Yes, it is a Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo for $1449.

    Thanks
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Pulls up the main Education Store page here. Weird.

    Uh... then what would be the point of having it?

    This is Apple. Everything on it works. What, PC makers put FAKE ports on their machines?!
     
  8. JMacPro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #8
    First of all ,RELAX, I'm just asking a question. Secondly, it makes sense to ask questions if you are not sure of something. Obviously, we all aren't Apple experts like you.
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    No, no, no! I'm serious; do they actually DO that? Are there laptops (desktops?!) out there that have "ports" that actually don't have the hardware there?

    If they do, that's sick.
     
  10. JMacPro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #10
    I've seen laptops with dummy PCMCIA slots.
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    [​IMG]

    That's really all that can be said about that.:(
     
  12. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #12
    In my 15 years of IT, I've never seen this before. Must have been one cheap machine.
     
  13. JMacPro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #13
    Just curious if you can respond without being condescending.

    Maybe I'm going crazy. I could have sworn I've seen this, but no biggie.
    We're getting away from why I posted.

    Thanks
     
  14. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    I have. I had a laptop in the mid 90's and the expansion chassis had a dummy PCMCIA slot. The manufacurer claimed they could never get the slot working so they left it in the body but removed the electronics. The OP is wise to confirm everything although Apple wouldn't pull stuff like that.
     
  15. JMacPro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #15

    WHEW.. I'm NOT crazy afterall. Thanks.:D
     
  16. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Sorry for taking stabs at the PC industry; I'll be sure to defend everything they do in the future.
     
  17. JMacPro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #17
    You can take all the shots you want at the PC industry, I honestly don't care. I I've had it with PC's myself which is why I'm looking at a MBP.

    I thought you were taking shots at me and that's why I responded the way I did.
     
  18. anamznazn macrumors regular

    anamznazn

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #18
    Does anyone really use the expresscard card slot much?
     

Share This Page