Does this mean I have both 6G SATA III ports?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SAVAGE5, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. SAVAGE5 macrumors member

    SAVAGE5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Just wondering as I received it today and it says 2 weeks old.
     
  2. Kyzelios macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Not necessarily. What details does it show in System Profiler for your SuperDrive?
     
  3. SAVAGE5 thread starter macrumors member

    SAVAGE5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #3
    It says 6 Gigabit for both link and negotiated speeds so I'm guessing so. Just wanted to double check. What 2.5" HDD are 6Gb/s or is it only SSD?
     
  4. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #4
    only SSD as far as I'm aware for 2.5in drives
     
  5. Kyzelios macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    It sure sounds like you've got two 6 GB/s SATA III ports then. As for storage devices I'm not sure off the top of my head, but check a couple online retailers such as http://www.newegg.com/.
     
  6. SAVAGE5 thread starter macrumors member

    SAVAGE5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #6
    Yea I checked them and macsales and they didn't have any. O well still good at least for SSD.
     
  7. reclusive46 macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I agree. Any SSD is fine on sata 2. Well anyone that would fit into the macbook pro anyway.
     
  8. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #8
    That's showing your hard drive. Click on the other one. That's the one that'll determine if you have dual SATA3 ports.
     
  9. SAVAGE5, Jun 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2011

    SAVAGE5 thread starter macrumors member

    SAVAGE5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #9
    The only thing different with the second is that it is 6Link/1.5Negotiated Link

    [​IMG]
     
  10. nickcao macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
  11. jcampbell1070 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    NC
  12. SAVAGE5 thread starter macrumors member

    SAVAGE5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
  13. clickclickw00t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #13
    thats because your superdrive doesnt communicated at 6 gbps
     
  14. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #14
    Yep. You've got 6/6
     
  15. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #15
  16. SAVAGE5 thread starter macrumors member

    SAVAGE5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #16
    Awesome thanks guys! I am going to put an SSD in both locations to make sure it works to an exact spec. And I'll report back.
     

Share This Page