Does this partition scheme make any sense?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Bengt77, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    I need help. Again.

    This time, I actually did use Boot Camp to partition my hard drive. But, when I restart into the Windows XP installer, I get a different partition scheme from what I see in the Boot Camp manual and also from what I see on several sites. See the linked image below. As you can see, I don't see the 200MB EFI partition, I don't see the Mac OS X volume, I don't see the tiny volume I see in all the screenshots; I only see a C: partition of 128GB. Is this normal? I don't think so. I'm afraid I'll ruin my Mac OS X installation (again) when I choose this C: volume. Am I right in fearing so?

    Fact is, I don't really know wether the Windows XP cd is the SP2 version or not. How can I check which one it is?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    The disc would be labeled with its version.

    It looks like it's pre-Service Pack 2. You're only seeing 128 GB.
     
  3. Bengt77 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    Ah, okay, so a pre-SP2 version of Windows XP is too old to see large volumes? That would explain. Then I need to get myself a newer version. Maybe they have a spare one at work...
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Pre-SP2 can't see a large drive.

    Note: You can get another Windows disc that has Service Pack 2. You just need to make sure it conforms to your license key.
     
  5. Bengt77 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    While just browsing for cheap offers for Windows XP, I wondered about something. Is the Windows XP Professional better for gaming (since that is my sole purpose for running Windows at all), or is the Home version just as well suited for that?

    EDIT: A quick search seems to reveal that Windows XP Home is not dual processor compatible. So it would be quite stupid to run it on my iMac.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Dual processors means dual socket not core.
     
  7. Bengt77 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    Ah, okay, thanks.
     

Share This Page