Does TimeMachine Back Up BootCamp ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by lugesm, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. lugesm macrumors 6502a

    lugesm

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #1
    Have not used BootCamp. Just wondering if TimeMachine in Leopard backs up BootCamp entries also.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Bootcamp is simply a BIOS emulator for EFI installed in the firmware (so not backed up), away of partitioning the drive and a set of drivers for Windows. BootCamp does not backup the drive partition status and will do nothing at all with Windows partitions.

    So the short answer is: no, it does absolutely nothing with BootCamp.
     
  3. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Right on two points but Bootcamp is not a BIOS emulator. The BIOS was added in with a firmware update the same day that bootcamp was released. You don't need bootcamp to install windows on an Intel Mac. Just the firmware.

    However back to the OP's question, no timemachine can't backup your bootcamp partition because it only runs while OSX is running.

    However timemachine will back up VM's used with Parallels or Fusion.
     
  4. lugesm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lugesm

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #4
    Thank you for your rapid responses to my inquiry. This helps.

    I love this Forum. Thanks again ! ! !
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I thought it was a bad idea to let it do that as the VM disk file is pretty huge (a few Gb at least) and any time anything changes in that file TimeMachine has to copy the whole thing as it's one big file (not only taking quite a while to copy, but filling up your backup disk very quickly)?
     
  6. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    You're right, it is a bad idea but it is possible.

    That reminds me to exclude those folders from my timemachine back up :D Thanks!
     
  7. admiraldennis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    It's true that Time Machine does not back up Windows partitions, but this isn't the reason why (if it were, why couldn't it just be backed up under Mac OS X?).

    Time Machine completely ignores NTFS and FAT32 partitions.
     
  8. ingenious macrumors 68000

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #8
    Hmm... mine backs up my external FAT32 drive (the drive that holds my iTunes and iPhoto)...
     
  9. princehippo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #9
    Hi ,I'm new here..
    May I know how to do the configure to exclude the folders from Time Machine backup ?

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  10. jck1946 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #10
    TimeMachine, BootCamp and Parallels

    I have BootCamp installed and also use it as my Parallels VM disk. Will TimeMachine back it up as Parallels or ignore it like BootCamp? Thanks very much for the help.
     
  11. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #11
    Open Time Machine Preferences
    Click on Options

    Use the + and - to add or remove folders

    [​IMG]

    For more control over Time Machine, check out TimeMachineEditor


    No, it will not back up your Parallels VM because it uses the Boot Camp Partition

    However, if you want to back up your Boot Camp Partition you can use WinClone and it is free.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  12. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #12
    This might be a dead thread, but this sentence is FALSE for certain versions of OS X 10.5 and Fusion. And it may be false MOST of the time. Manually verify that your Virtual Machines are being backed up before relying on it.

    They are usually automatically EXCLUDED because they are extremely large, and Time Machine has to re-backup the entire file if even one bit changes.
     
  13. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #13
    I use Fusion
    I have OS X 10.5.7

    My Virtual Machines are in my Time Machine Backup unless I exclude them

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  14. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #14
    Actually, no it doesn't, unless you installed Boot Camp and then told Parallels to use that partition. Parallels is perfectly happy setting up it's own virtual machine and storing it's files in a disk image. That will be backed up.

    No, OS X and Fusion do not automatically exclude the VM's from backup. Also, both the latest versions of Parallels and of Fusion are designed to work with Time Machine properly, and thus do not require the entire file to be backed up every time.

    jW
     
  15. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #15
    Agreed... but I was answering a specific question where the user had Boot Camp installed and was using Parallels to access the Boot Camp partition. We are both saying the same thing... Boot Camp partitions do not get backed up, Virtual Machines do.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  16. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #16
    Fusion 1.1.1 and below excluded the VMs from being backed up.

    By what magic do you think Time Machine can work 'properly' with multi-GB files, such that the entire thing doesn't have to be backed up with every change? Is Steve Jobs' Pancreatic Pixie Dust involved?
     
  17. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #17
    No need to be a jerk. The VM's are not multi-GB files in reality, they are wrappers around multiple gigabytes of files. Thus, if they properly identify them as such, Time Machine can back up the changes within those VM's without backing up the entire thing again.

    jW
     
  18. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #18
    That's sort of true, but not really. The VM file is a filesystem in it's own right. It's much more than a wrapper. As TimeMachine can only back-up HFS+ file systems this would prevent it from working at a file-level basis with any Windows VMs anyway...
     
  19. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #19
    Personally, I would want an original, if you will, backup copy of each VM that I have.

    That way when the VM that I am using is hosed, I can just delete it and make a new copy from my original backup.

    Therefore I would not want TM to incrementally back up my VMs. But that's just me.
     
  20. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #20
    It's not related to TM, but rsync can do this. Check out the '--no-whole-file' option. :cool:
     
  21. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #21
    Sorry, it's my standard response when somebody says something which violates the principles of Information/Computer Science in defense of an Apple product.

    If Time Machine worked at the block level, it could do something like this. VMWare itself will do snapshots, and it works on the same concept. (Tip: Don't keep snapshots around longer than needed; they grow over time and diminish disk performance.)

    Yes, because rsync is willing to examine file contents and evaluate them on a granular basis to find similarities and differences. PocketSoft's .RTPatch product was(and still is) one of the big players in this field for binary patching. Apple should buy them and shrink their updates by 95%.

    Microsoft seems to have figured out their own method for doing sub-file updates.
     
  22. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #22
    On a related topic:

    I have directories with my Boot Camp partition that I would like to backup.
    I like how Time machine backs up.
    I'm running Parallels 4.0.
    Copying the directories to my OS X partition is fine.
    It seems that when Parallels is NOT running, I can access the Boot Camp partition.
    But, when Parallels is running, I don't have an easy access to Boot Camp Partition.
    I could run something like running Second copy inside of Windows (XP) and copy from Boot Camp to OS X.

    Any better way of doing this?
     
  23. Rory Casey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #23
    Time Machine… No, Windows.. maybe...

    I love this forum, and use it a lot so. I decided to join in.

    I have found that time machine will not back up a windows boot camp partition. However… if you have a time capsule registered in windows, you can use the windows system backup program to do an incremental backup onto the time capsule. But you have to be in windows to do this. I am sure it would work with a USB drive, and parallels/VM Ware. Just exclude the files from the time machine, and back it up in windows on the Capsule (Make sure it is in incremental mode or it will take forever).
    I dont think this will work with a USB drive and Boot Camp, unless you have it partitioned to NTFS.

    Just a suggestion… Ironically I went looking for if the bootcamp drive can be back up, and remembered XP has a incremental file backup system. I am not sure about Vista, or 7. GL
     
  24. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #24
    I've been using Second Copy to copy my important data to a OS X drive, then let Time Machine back it up.
    I also have an offsite drive.
     
  25. IllustratorMD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #25
    boot camp

    Hey everybody.

    I have a pretty low level of knowledge about this stuff, so hopefully this question hasn't already been answered.

    I am about to install windows 7. I want to partition the new 1 TB drive I got so that I have 250 GB for extra space for my mac stuff, and partition 750 gb to use with all my windows stuff. I was warned that if I do this, and windows crashes, ALL files on the new HD that has windows installed will be lost. Will time machine backup whatever files I had saved while in OSX onto that hard drive?

    thank you in advance
     

Share This Page