Does UK law negate the need for AppleCare?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PT123, May 21, 2011.

1. PT123 macrumors member

For what it's worth, I am a lawyer, although not a consumer one, and this has interested me for some time now...

There have been numerous discussions on here about the merits of buying AppleCare and whether it is worth the hefty cost. Obviously, anyone who has had their machine break down within 3 years will say it is.

But for those of you who buy your Mac stuff in the UK, you should consider a very neat UK law known as the Sale Of Goods Act. Without reciting the whole law, it states that items bought should continue to be in their original, working condition (I.e. What they were bought to do) for a reasonable lifespan - defined as 6 years in the UK or 5 in Scotland. If they arent, the manufacturer needs to repair or replace the item (their choice which one).

The only get-out clause for manufacturers is for low-cost items that would struggle to live for six years anyway. But electronics are clear cut, not least ones as expensive as Apple's.

This of course only applies to inherent faults with the product and not a accidental or user induced damage/wear and tear. However, isn't this what AppleCare covers too? Therefore, is it a waste of money?:eek:

Would be interested to know if anyone here has actually exercised their right in the UK under this law (or other countries where there are similar laws). I for one will not be buying AppleCare when the UK government are guaranteeing my laptop for me. However, I will be taking out accidental damage insurance, now THAT can be worth it!

2. PT123 thread starter macrumors member

Just had a look at that, a lot of misinformation in there though.

Another key point for those who are a bit intimidated is that you don't have to prove there's smething wrong with the manufacturing of your laptop, Apple has to prove there ISN'T.

3. fibrizo macrumors 6502

fibrizo