Does using 9600M improve basic performance?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AR15MBP, Mar 2, 2009.

1. AR15MBP macrumors regular

I tried searching but couldn't find a good answer. I'm new to Mac, and was wondering if using the 9600M improves basic performance, such as using Firefox, iWork, etc., I.E. Non-graphic intensive utilities. It seems to me like it does, and I'm wondering if that's because OS X is a very graphic heavy OS. Can anyone shed some light with some technical know-how? Thanks! :apple:

2. flanamac macrumors 6502

Perhaps a bit more information would be helpful.

Do you currently own the new 17"? If so, have you tried both modes and are you asking because you don't see any difference in speed?

3. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

SteveMobs

I don't think Mac OS X is very graphic intensive at all.

4. blooz4u macrumors newbie

I tried the switch during everyday computing, but I really noticed no difference at all.

5. flanamac macrumors 6502

I utilize PS CS4 and Adobe Lightroom and have found that they are becoming more graphic intensive programs because they are memory hogs; so Adobe is leveraging more and more the graphics memory which is often underutilized.

I will let you know if I see a difference in the future when using it and have about 20 Photoshop layers going which can creat a 1GB file in RAM memory.

6. derek1984 macrumors 6502a

I plan on getting a 17 inch MBP. If I am using Logic Studio, would I notice any difference between the 9400 and 9600?

7. AR15MBP thread starter macrumors regular

I have the Unibody 2.4 15". I think there is marginal improvement in performance for basic programs, but I'm wondering if that's just a mental thing since I know I'm using the 9600M. I think it probably is at this point.

8. UMHurricanes34 macrumors 65816

UMHurricanes34