Does Windows know something I don't?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Kingsly, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #1
    I was just launching a game in bootcamp on my 2.16MBP... the game profiler came up and under system profile shows 2.21ghz C2D, 2GB RAM (that is correct), ATI X1600 w/ 640MB of VRAM. :confused:

    Uhh... :confused:
     
  2. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    clock speed varys slightly due to bus speed diffrences and can change a little at boot.
     
  3. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #3
    That makes sense, but where did the extra 512 MB of VRAM come from?
     
  4. applecow macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #4
    Apple messed up a few computers a few months back and added the x1600 640 instead of the regular. I guess you just got lucky.

    just kidding
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    No it's normal. Some cards can address physical memory too.

    My X1900XT says it has 1.25gb of memory in my mac pro in windows.
     
  6. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #6
    :eek: Wow, guess I am making the right choice when I order mine! :cool:
     
  7. Andrew275 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #7
    Keep in mind that even though it can use the system memory if it runs out of VRAM, it will be noticeably slower.
     

Share This Page