Does WoW need Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ainippe, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. Ainippe, Nov 11, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014

    Ainippe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    #1
    I have made up my mind to buy a rMBP to replace the Alienware laptop I have. I will only use it to play WoW on the odd occasion ie maybe a couple of hours a week when I travel. Otherwise I will use it as a proper laptop the rest of the time including travellling. I have a dedicated gaming PC at home.

    Does the rMBP need Bootcamp to run wow properly? Or should I load the WoW (mac) version that is available? Excuse my ignorance - what is Bootcamp?

    Regards


    Nick:D
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    Shouldn't have to

    WOW comes for both Macs and windows, you may get slightly better frame rates under windows in bootcamp but for casual gaming on teh go I can't see it'll make enough difference to bother.

    Bootcamp is having windows on your mac installed in a partition so you can boot into windows when you need it.
     
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    You may get a bit better frame rate under windows, but to state that you NEED bootcamp is a bit over the top.

    Bootcamp is Apple's marketing term for a utility that partitions your drive and allows you to install Windows on a Mac.
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    What Alienware laptop did you have, what rMBP are you going to buy and what settings/gamemodes are you going to play WoW under?
     
  5. Ardmanz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    #5
    I run WOW on my late 2013 rMBP (w/750m) in OSX and it runs just fine.

    1680x1050. AA off, mix of medium to high settings. 50-70 fps in stormwind (depending on how many are around).
     

Share This Page