does your rMBP13 have >1GB kernel since 10.8.3?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Modernape, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Modernape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    Since the update last week, my kernel_task now takes up at least 1.2GB of RAM, which is a huge increase from the 6/700MB it used to be. I'm wondering if this is specific to my machine, or are other retina owners seeing similar?

    The only extensions that have been updated which might explain it are shown here:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Same here (Mac Mini 2012) and others as well, you're not the only one.
     
  3. vatter69 macrumors 6502a

    vatter69

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    #3
    Always wondered what the kernel task is doing, let alone hogging up 1.4 gig (in my case)
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    I guess they are doing more aggressive caching now. Despite the higher kernel RAM utilisation, I still have no pageouts and the system feels snappier overall (this is on a 15" rMBP).
     
  5. vatter69 macrumors 6502a

    vatter69

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    #5
    Ya no pageouts really here unless i start parallels and work heavy with the VM.
     
  6. robvas, Mar 20, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013

    robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    My Retina is using over 2GB at first boot-up with nothing loaded. Always has.
     
  7. bill-p macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #7
    For some reason, my usage seems to cause page outs more often lately...

    [​IMG]

    But there is no adverse effect on performance (no lag, stutter), and I probably wouldn't have noticed it had it not been for Activity Monitor.
     
  8. Modernape thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #8
    Wow - that's high, how long was your up-time at that point, what had you been running?
     
  9. tharitm macrumors member

    tharitm

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #9
    Same here! Non Retina 2012 Model though. I tried rebooting but no luck.
     
  10. CausticPuppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #10
    1.41GB for me. WTF?

    I didn't check this before the 10.8.3 update so I don't know what it was previously.
     
  11. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #11
    Have you started using some new software lately? If I am not mistaken, accessing memory-mapped files will also show up as page misses, even though they are often designed to work this way.
     
  12. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #12
    My kernel has been over 1 GB since the update--currently 1.33--but it seems to me that some tasks have been reallocated as many of the other processes--like webprocess take up less RAM. Can't say I am using less RAM but I really don't see me using any more total RAM after the update. Doing my normal tasks and currently have 2.76 Free and 906 Inactive (out of 8GB). So in the end, all is good. :)
     
  13. bill-p macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #13
    I took that screenshot about the time I made the post. And current uptime says 2 days 19 hours... so I'd guess about 2.5 days.

    I'd just been running the usual: Safari + Mail + Xcode + Skype + Photoshop + probably Preview as I had to look at some PDFs.

    You can probably tell from the screenshot, but I already closed the heavy hitters (Xcode and Photoshop) by that time.

    And Photoshop was open to edit a 1024 x 768 transparent PNG. Hardly something that would cause a multi-GB RAM usage spike.

    Nope, nothing new. I haven't installed anything new on this computer for 2 months now.
     

Share This Page