doesa anyone know if u can use your iphone as a dataconnect source for your notebook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by scottvanson, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. scottvanson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #1
    instead of buying a data service contract

    Sprint phones can do this

    MAybe an app will enable this?
     
  2. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #2
    Without jail-breaking (hacking) your iPhone, no. Although AT&T has been rumored to be working on a plan that would officially allow this.

    Search here for 'pdanet' if you want to read about how to do it unofficially (with a jail-broken) phone.
     
  3. justit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #3
    Your search bar must be stuck :)

    Jailbrake with PDANet
     
  4. scottvanson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  6. Daremo macrumors 68000

    Daremo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Only if you got in on it for the few days it was available. Otherwise, Jailbreak is the only other way.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Yeah that's quite unfortunate.
     
  8. UVa.Jester macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #8
    There's no other way to do this without jailbreaking... I don't feel like jailbreaking my phone again...
     
  9. Minimoose 360 macrumors 65816

    Minimoose 360

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #9
    Hopefully AT&T and Apple reach a REASONABLE agreement soon.

    I was hearing 10 bucks more a month? If so then I'm in.
     
  10. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    $30 is what I ready somewhere -- a bit steep IMHO.
     
  11. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #11
    The issue is AT&T's greed, they charge $30 additional for tethering any phone on their network (option not yet available for iPhone). People have figured out ways around it but they shouldn't have to.

    Just AT&T being greedy, tho they argue it limits the number of people who would suck up more bandwidth on their already over-subscribed data network.

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page