Doesn't cloning copy recovery partition?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by todesto, Jan 9, 2015.

  1. todesto macrumors member

    todesto

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    #1
    Just finished setting up fusion drive and used SuperDuper to clone my HDD to fusion drive.
    I am able to boot with fusion drive but there is no recovery partition in fusion drive, obviously there is one on my HDD which I am going to format.

    What is best way to get recovery partition in fusion drive?
     
  2. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2
    Not with SuperDuper, but with CCC (CarbonCopyCloner) you can clone the recovery partition.
     
  3. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Only onto certain drives, for example it does not allow for the recovery HD on my RAID 0 SSD setup on the sonnet tempo PCIe but it does on the clone on a 500GB WD HDD... Not sure why I guess because it looks like an external drive to the CMP
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    CCC does not properly clone the recovery partition either (so maybe it's a wide-spread problem with cloning apps)...
    http://www.macworld.com/article/2857721/how-to-restore-a-missing-recovery-partition.html
     
  5. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
  6. todesto thread starter macrumors member

    todesto

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    #6
    I followed link by VirtualRain, but I couldn't make Recovery HD using CCC because I had it set up as fusion drive. So I ended up fresh install Yosemite and found out Recovery HD is created in fusion drive, then restored from Time Machine, it's all good now including Recovery HD.
     

Share This Page