domain name with capital letters

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by elizamx, May 8, 2009.

1. elizamx macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am new to the use of Mac (and to the "administration" of computers in general).

I need to run some program that uses the domain name for the license.
    When I checked System Preferences > Sharing > Remote login on,
    There is a message saying "To log in to this computer remotely type
    "ssh name@xxx.XXXXXX.XX".

Now, in order to my program to run, I need to change the characters in capital letters (from the domain name) to lowercase. ie. I would like to see
    a message of the sort
    "To log in to this computer remotely type
    "ssh name@xxx.xxxxx.xx".

Is this possible? How can I change the domain name?

Hope this question makes sense.

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

Not sure I completely follow. I don't believe the domain name is case-sensitive. Have you tried it as is yet?

3. elizamx thread starter macrumors newbie

I'll try to make more sense:

I have a program to do some chemistry calculations, and the license file of that specific program is for computers in the domain *chem.unam.mx

So, when I try to run the program I got a message saying that my license file is invalid because I have a domain chem.UNAM.MX

I looked at the Sharing> remote login and I found the message written in my first entry indicating name@chem.UNAM.MX

Seems that in the case of the license file, for some reason, the domain name is case sensitive.

And that is why I though that if I was able to change the domain name to all lowercase letter, maybe my problem with the license file will be solved.

4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt