Done unlocking, Just pop in T-Mobile SIM?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Macman756, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. Macman756 macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    I've finished the unlock with redsn0w, now can I just put in an active T-mobile sim and make calls? I'm trying to test this jb/unlock, heck could I put in an AT&T sim that's under contract, that wouldn't have worked before would it?

    Edit: This is a 2G phone.
     
  2. Macman756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Alright, so the AT&T SIM would not have worked at all then, but will now?
     
  3. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    Depends on why it didn't work. Did it work in other phones? if it did work in any other phone, it should in the unlocked iPhone.
     
  4. Macman756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Well idk if it worked or not. I never tried it. But would a regular ATT sim work in a locked iPhone? I want to test this unlock to see if it did anything. Thanks.
     
  5. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #6
    Yeah an ATT SIM would work on an unlocked iPhone. Or at least it did on my 2G that I switched from ATT to Vodafone back to ATT while abroad.
     
  6. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    I am not aware of the ATT sim being special for the iPhone. Any valid sim should work in the unlocked iPhone.
     
  7. Macman756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    OK, so if the SIM from my LG Shine works in this unlocked 2G, my unlock worked? Thanks
     
  8. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #9
    That sounds kind of self confirming, but yes. :p
     
  9. Macman756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    Haha yeah I know, I'm not sure if that would have worked before the unlock.
     
  10. ddr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    Yes, the LG Shine SIM should not have worked in a locked iPhone, so if it works now then you should be good to go. I just went through the same thing today. I bought a 2G iPhone, unlocked with redsn0w, and popped in my ATT (non iPhone) SIM. It works fine now.
     

Share This Page