Dont know which router to get (need fast reply)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Tragedies, Oct 18, 2007.

1. Tragedies macrumors 6502

I'm getting my iMac in a few hours and I plan on getting the Airport Extreme with it so my sister doesn't need wired connection anymore and I can access the internet (we dont have a router yet).

Lately Ive been hearing alot of problems with the AEBS and I'm not sure if its a good idea to get it.

All I need is a router that will connect to my modem allowing internet access to my iMac and my sisters Macbook (and work with my parent's PC)

Does ANYONE know ANY GOOD Routers that work with Macs that aren't as expensive and dont have any problems? I'm not good at picking up Routers and I want to buy a cheap router but one that works great.

I don't need the USB attachment option. Just a simple good working router that works with PC and Mac.

Much help appreciated.

2. italiano40 macrumors 65816

italiano40

3. Tragedies thread starter macrumors 6502

care to be more specific?

do all netgear routers work on macs?

4. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

all routers work with macs. Networking is a universal standard not mac/pc specific

5. zioxide macrumors 603

zioxide

I have an AEBS it's great.

Linksys is also good.

6. vanmacguy macrumors 6502a

I've had many Linksys routers and they pretty much all worked great. I've only ever replaced them to upgrade from B to G to N - wireless is important to me.

Cheers.

7. Tragedies thread starter macrumors 6502

Oh wow, I never knew all of 'em worked with Macs.

Can anyone recommended a few good ones that are cheap (like the exact model?). I don't want to be ripped off by someone at the store just to get rid of a cheap router.

Edit: I don't know if this has any relevance, but my parents use 802.11b

8. vanmacguy macrumors 6502a

We probably need some more information before we can give you accurate specs.