Doom 2016 and rMBP 2015

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by beerglass007, May 16, 2016.

  1. beerglass007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #1
    I'm struggling to get Doom 2016 working on my rMBP 2015 with windows 10 and
    AMD Radeon R9 M370X

    What is the best windows RES and what video settings should I be running ?

    Its all over the place, doesn't run full screen if its anything but Native res, which runs far to slow

    Thanks
     
  2. beerglass007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #2
    Got it going but it runs like a dog

    Not good 8(
     
  3. beerglass007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #3
    So my laptop running
    AMD Radeon R9 M370X can't run Doom 2016 over 22FPS in 1080p low settings

    Anyone else have any joy ?
     
  4. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #4
    Make sure you install the latest drivers straight from AMD/ATI. They're tuned for Doom.
     
  5. beerglass007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #5
    Problem is how ?

    They seem to only allow drivers from bootcamp. The AMD drivers dont work native on the rMBR
     
  6. Garrod, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016

    Garrod macrumors regular

    Garrod

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Have you tried downloading the latest beta AMD drivers? I seem to remember they're a lot more forgiving when it comes to OS X using Bootcamp for Windows with AMD GPUs and their installation. Link: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/latest-catalyst-windows-beta.aspx ...it's the AMD Catalyst™ 15.11.1 Beta Driver option you want to choose.

    Hope this helps!
     
  7. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #7
  8. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #8
    IDTech5, the engine Doom uses, has never run well on AMD cards. So if you do manage to get it going, don't be surprised if you still see substandard performance, especially since the M375X is on the low end of mid-range mobile GPUs.
     
  9. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #9
    Doom uses Id Tech 6. The beta reportedly ran quite well on AMD card, but the final engine somehow uses an older version of openGL on AMD cards compared to nVidia cards and runs better on nVidia.
     
  10. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #10
    Apple does not have a good track record with graphic drivers under OS X or Boot Camp. As a programmer, I'm constantly surprised at how bad the graphic driver and support is under OS X. I understand why Apple cripples Boot Camp (we don't want Windows running too well on Apple hardware) but you would think they would want to improve it under OS X.

    The hacked AMD drivers under Boot Camp greatly improve the performance. In GTAV, it is quite remarkable.

    -P
     
  11. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #11
    What exactly do you develop for Mac OS?

    I ask because this is the first time I recall reading that Apple crippled graphics drivers for boot camp.
     
  12. jicon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    #12
    Many of the chipsets Apple uses on the mobile side have features disabled in the firmware, lowering their costs/thermal heat output.
     
  13. Garrod macrumors regular

    Garrod

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Evidence?
     
  14. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #14
    This was a big talking point when the MBP was first released and Boot Camp users used GPUZ to see how much under clocking and undervolting Apple uses. But even Sony was customising firmware on their notebook GPUs. It was hard to install or update drivers from AMD/NVIDIA without hacking the device IDs.
     
  15. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #15
    But under clocking is not the same a "features disabled".
     
  16. madeirabhoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #16
  17. Garrod macrumors regular

    Garrod

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    They should do - if they don't then it probably won't let you install them,
     
  18. simonmet macrumors 65816

    simonmet

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, New South Wales
    #18
    Doom was just updated with Vulkan support which supposedly improves performance for AMD cards. I got acceptable performance with GTA V so I'm surprised if Doom isn't playable... ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
  19. revmouse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013

Share This Page