Doom 3 and Halo playable on iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bluedoggiant, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #1
    Well, are those two games playable with reasonable graphix on the iMac? I always thought they weren't until I downloaded the demo for both of them. I put all the graphics and video settings up at max, highest res, frame rate, all out. And the game played like silk! it was so smooth! Is there a difference in the graphics between the demo and the real thing?
     
  2. walnuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    Doom 3 plays perfectly on my iMac- its the revision before yours: c2d, 2.33 ghz, 2 GB ram, NVidia graphics card with 256 MB video memory
     
  3. videotuning macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #3
    IMac

    :eek:Doom 3 requires much resurces in my opinion but I think this game is not so special
     
  4. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #4
    Halo 1 runs so fast on my Macbook Pro 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo with 2GB of RAM. It's the Universal Binary version... I think there was a PPC version of Halo a while back.
     
  5. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    Why wouldn't those two games play well on the iMac? I'm playing Call of Duty 4 on Windows XP with most things on max and it is very very lush.
     
  6. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #6
    Doom 3 for OS X should run quite well on a new iMac - it runs on the PowerMac G4 in my sig.
     
  7. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    if you look about a year into my past posts i posted lots of framerates etc for doom 3 on imac c2d (plastic) and my older g5 (the imac won.)
     
  8. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    i managed to find my second post on it from a search.
     
  9. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #9
    Of course those games are. The demos are quite similiar to the actual games. And not only that, you have a powerhouse of a computer, so itll pump those games out like nothin!(halo for sure, im not positive about doom 3...youll be able to run it fine, i just cant say for sure if at 100% highest settings will work though)
     
  10. bluedoggiant thread starter macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #10
    I think doom 3 was more graphic intensive, it took longer too load, i forgot to check the temps after i played it, but after i played halo for 5 minutes, i managed to heat up the GPU Diode to 154 degrees farenheit. I thought those games were very graphic intensive, like crysis, but i guess not. how about WoW? is that graphic intensive?
     
  11. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #11
    Yeah Halo runs really great on my iMac... and it uses a slower graphics card. With all the settings maxed out, it still get 50-60FPS. So yeah, it should run great. As for Doom, never played it.
     
  12. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #12
    Keep in mind that Halo and Doom 3 are worlds apart in terms of resource needs. Halo is a nearly 10 year old piece of software (wow, it's been that long?), while Doom 3 is just a couple years old.

    Halo will run well on many G4s, while Doom 3 needs a faster G5 (or Intel Mac) and mid to high-end GPU to really show its stuff.
     
  13. marcg007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Boston area
    #13
    Actually, I found that...

    Halo ran decently even on my old iBook G3 800 but the settings had to be pretty low. On my 933 Quicksilver it ran pretty well with the settings almost all the way up. On my Powerbook G4 1.5, Halo ran really well with most of the settings at about 75-85%. On my iMac 2.8 I played it with everything maxed and it ran just amazingly and I played Doom 3 on the iMac with all settings maxed and it ran great also. On my quicksilver I was able to run Doom 3 also but the settings had to be closer to the low end and they were a bit higher on my powerbook. I was fairly pleased because my quicksilver was below the minimum system requirements for Doom 3. What I want to know is if I can play Halo 2 for Windows on my iMac...
     

Share This Page