Dos and Donts - brand new 17" MBP (expected!!)...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rknrolls, Apr 14, 2009.

1. rknrolls macrumors newbie

I CANT wait .... I bit the bullet and ordered the 17" MBP, 2.66, 320@7200, glossy.... and I cant wait for it to arrive, tracking via UPS almost 50 times a day. Looks like its just left South Korea....

Anyway, being a complete Mac newbie, I just wanted to know if there are obvious/non-obvious DOs and DONTs and D'OHs when my machine arrives?

Do I need to leave the battery for charging overnight before I fire it up?

Any good Dos that would help the machine in the short/long run? Any avoidable mistakes....

looking fwd to my first :apple: :D

2. peskaa macrumors 68020

peskaa

3. rknrolls thread starter macrumors newbie

hope you not talking from experience there ;-), noted.

4. Thomas Davie macrumors 6502

Just got my Umbp 17 yesterday. What the above poster said. Don't drop it :)

Have a good protective case and/or sleeve. A nice clean surface to work with, and any software you want ready to charge. No, you can plug it in and start to use it immediately. Mine came 99% charged (it was a custom order with the 7200 rpm hard drive option), and only took about 30 minutes ot charge to 100%.

In no particular order, a) install and run xbench, b) install Neo-Office, and c) have fun.

As an aside, if I run at 1920x1200 I have to use my reading glasses, otherwise, I run at 1680x1050 resolution.

Tom

5. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

Don't:

Don't turn it on without charging, you'll do damage to the battery and it won't be able to hold it's charge as well, this isn't just mac related, all laptops are the same. Charge before use, or during use.

Don't drink to close to it, if you spill anything on it and it gets inside, it voids your applecare.

Do:

Download and install the application Onyx, it's a very good maintenance app.