iPad Dos the new iPad Pro 9.7 A9X chip have three cores?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by snow755, Mar 21, 2016.

  1. snow755 macrumors 6502a

    snow755

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #1
    Dos any one think the iPad 9.7" pro A9X chip will have three cores ? Like the iPad Air 2 A8X chip I find the A8X chip too be the best chip in a IOS Device has it makes my iPad run vary fast so am hoping is that the iPad 9.7" pro A9X chip will have three cores 4 cores will even be better
     
  2. Sparky2012 macrumors 6502

    Sparky2012

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    No, it is the exact same chip as the 12.9" iPad Pro therefore the A9X is an insanely fast dual core chip.
     
  3. Marshall73 macrumors 6502a

    Marshall73

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #3
    Not quite, it's clocked lower on the 9.7
     
  4. Sparky2012 macrumors 6502

    Sparky2012

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    We don't know that for sure but it most likely will be yes. Even so, it'll be quite close to the 12.9" performance.
     
  5. Marshall73 macrumors 6502a

    Marshall73

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #5
    Check the specs on the website, it's either clocked lower or a different chip. I would say, clocked lower is far more likely.
    image.jpeg
     
  6. AliMacs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    #6
    You are absolutely correct - the iPad 9.7" is much smaller than the pro - let's not all forget about those 4 speakers lol. You can almost BET they will sound not as impressive as the 13" model. The 13" model has so much room to breathe there is literally no throttling of the cores. I'm almost certain the 9.7" is clocked lower but not by too much. Can't wait to hear the complaints about how tiny the speakers sound ;)
     
  7. stevemiller macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #7
    wait are you suggesting that doubling then number of tiny onboard speakers isn't what makes it a $100 better device!?
     
  8. Sparky2012 macrumors 6502

    Sparky2012

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8

    Ah, didn't see that when I looked. Maybe it hadn't been updated when I checked or maybe I missed it. Either way it's still powerful although I'm slightly sad the GPU has been slowed down. I understand why they've done it though.
     

Share This Page