Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

dosdude1: macOS Catalina post iMac GPU upgrade

hhe_muc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2020
8
1
Munich, Germany
I am using and iMac11,3 (mid 2010) with Catalina (with dosdude1 setup). After upgrading my GPU from ATI Radeon HD 5750 1 GB to NVIDIA GTX 765M I only get a black screen after booting (even after a long time).
  • The old ATI card works fine. Do I need to install High Sierra and install Catalina again?
  • Is it possible to „patch“ the current setup?
  • Or isn’t it possible at all?
Any help/hints appreciated!

Best regards,
Heiko
 

LuisN

macrumors 6502a
Mar 30, 2013
559
489
Torres Vedras, Portugal
I am using and iMac11,3 (mid 2010) with Catalina (with dosdude1 setup). After upgrading my GPU from ATI Radeon HD 5750 1 GB to NVIDIA GTX 765M I only get a black screen after booting (even after a long time).
  • The old ATI card works fine. Do I need to install High Sierra and install Catalina again?
  • Is it possible to „patch“ the current setup?
  • Or isn’t it possible at all?
Any help/hints appreciated!

Best regards,
Heiko
Reinstall over current without patching video. Patches video kexts don't work with supported cards
 
  • Like
Reactions: hhe_muc
Comment

hhe_muc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2020
8
1
Munich, Germany
Reinstall over current without patching video. Patches video kexts don't work with supported cards

Hi Luis,

Thank you for your swift reply! According to my understanding, the patches are applied automatically during the installation process.

Wouldn't it be possible to select "macOS Post Install" and then deselect "Legacy Video Card Patch" and activate "Force Cache Rebuild" and therefore "Change" the current setup?

Looking forward for your rating...

Best regards,
Heiko
 
Comment

LuisN

macrumors 6502a
Mar 30, 2013
559
489
Torres Vedras, Portugal
Hi Luis,

Thank you for your swift reply! According to my understanding, the patches are applied automatically during the installation process.

Wouldn't it be possible to select "macOS Post Install" and then deselect "Legacy Video Card Patch" and activate "Force Cache Rebuild" and therefore "Change" the current setup?

Looking forward for your rating...

Best regards,
Heiko
When creating your usb patcher you can deselect the option to apply the patches automatically and/or APFS patch.It's under the options menu but I'm not sure, just find it and deselect that option. After installing you need to boot with the usb patcher and apply all the relevant patches for your model except the video one.

Captura de ecrã 2020-01-19, às 16.28.02.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: hhe_muc
Comment

hhe_muc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2020
8
1
Munich, Germany
When creating your usb patcher you can deselect the option to apply the patches automatically and/or APFS patch.It's under the options menu but I'm not sure, just find it and deselect that option. After installing you need to boot with the usb patcher and apply all the relevant patches for your model except the video one.

View attachment 889571

Hi Luis,

Thank you for your hints!

I deselected the auto-apply option and re-created a new usb image for Catalina setup. In order to do this I needed to switch graphics cards and afterwards I was able to re-install High Sierra (with Nvidia GPU - see screenshot below) and setup two APFS volumes: one for High Sierra and one for Catalina.

Bildschirmfoto 2020-01-22 um 08.59.16.png


As it is not possible to set the start volume to the Catalina installer or choose the boot device via the option key: Do I need to switch graphic cards again to reinstall Catalina? Or is there another trick to boot from my usb stick?

Best regards,
Heiko
 
Comment

LuisN

macrumors 6502a
Mar 30, 2013
559
489
Torres Vedras, Portugal
Hi Luis,

Thank you for your hints!

I deselected the auto-apply option and re-created a new usb image for Catalina setup. In order to do this I needed to switch graphics cards and afterwards I was able to re-install High Sierra (with Nvidia GPU - see screenshot below) and setup two APFS volumes: one for High Sierra and one for Catalina.

View attachment 889977

As it is not possible to set the start volume to the Catalina installer or choose the boot device via the option key: Do I need to switch graphic cards again to reinstall Catalina? Or is there another trick to boot from my usb stick?

Best regards,
Heiko
Yes, that's the best solution since you have disabled the auto patcher. Switch graphic card and apply the relevant patches for your model except the video ones
 
  • Like
Reactions: hhe_muc
Comment

Luis Mimi Berrios

macrumors newbie
Jul 9, 2020
3
0
Comment

bone1

macrumors newbie
Jul 11, 2020
2
0
Luis eu consegui conforme o link abaixo

Abraço


Hi, here is a resume of the information about swap GPU on this iMacs

I upgrade my iMac 2010 with a new GPU K1100 and had de same problem, I fix it flashing the new card using ssh from another computer following the @xanderon post.

Best Regards
 
Last edited:
Comment

bone1

macrumors newbie
Jul 11, 2020
2
0
and this
 
Comment

ggwwzz11

macrumors newbie
Sep 21, 2015
10
2
Hi Luis,

Thank you for your hints!

I deselected the auto-apply option and re-created a new usb image for Catalina setup. In order to do this I needed to switch graphics cards and afterwards I was able to re-install High Sierra (with Nvidia GPU - see screenshot below) and setup two APFS volumes: one for High Sierra and one for Catalina.

View attachment 889977

As it is not possible to set the start volume to the Catalina installer or choose the boot device via the option key: Do I need to switch graphic cards again to reinstall Catalina? Or is there another trick to boot from my usb stick?

Best regards,
Heiko
Hi, Heiko. I'm having the same problem. Instead I have a flashed GTX770M card.
But I still have black screen during startup (unless I press option or do Nvram reset) and have display visual after I enter my login password. As well as black screen after entered sleep mode.
I have tried both auto and manual patch options while install dosdude1's patcher.
Can't get WIFI working on Catalina. So settled in Mojave that works pretty OK except really annoying black screen issue.
And I did deselect the Legacy video card while post install phase. But the black screen issue still unresolved.
屏幕快照 2020-08-03 上午7.22.59.png
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.