Double entry applications on "Open With Menu" in Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by M&M, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. M&M macrumors regular

    M&M

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Joliette, Quebec, Canada
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm having a little bug on Snow Leopard and I wonder if any of you may have the solution to fix it.

    When I choose a file and I go to the Open with menu, I see that there's a double entry for some applications. (Real Player, VLC)

    Is there a way to clear this so it only shows one single entry of the applications and why does this happens?

    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #2
    It's not a Snow Leopard bug, it also happens in Leopard and Tiger.
     
  3. mysterytramp macrumors 65816

    mysterytramp

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    Search your hard drive. You probably have two copies of the software. Possibly one in the Applications folder and one in another folder inside the Applications folder.

    mt
     
  4. M&M thread starter macrumors regular

    M&M

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Joliette, Quebec, Canada
    #4
    I did researched the hard drive.
    There's no second location or duplicate app on it. :(
     
  5. lewis82 macrumors 68000

    lewis82

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
    #5
    The same thing happens to me in the Recent elements menu. But I'm sure too that I have only one Firefox.app.
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    This isn't really a bug, I guess you have an external hard drive that you clone your internal drive to or use Time Machine on.

    OS X keeps a record of applications and when you plug your external drive it records that the application is there and even though it is the same technical applciation it is on a different drive so there are two entries for it.

    You can cleanup your Launch services database via applications such as Onyx or Cocktail or the terminal

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20071102084155353
     
  7. M&M thread starter macrumors regular

    M&M

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Joliette, Quebec, Canada
    #7
    Thanks a lot.
    I did install Cocktail and I performed the Cleanup Launch Services.
    The duplicate files are gone now.:)
     

Share This Page